This guide was designed for the biographical research project for Prof. Brown's philosophy students. If you have questions or need assistance finding information, look for my contact information on the right of this page. You can also use the "Ask-A-Librarian" discussion board within your Blackboard course.
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen.
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks.
This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Here are some of the philosophy-related ebooks available through our Ebsco ebook collection.
One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers by
One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers offers biographical information and critical analysis of the life, work and impact of some of the most significant figures in philosophy this century. Taken from the acclaimed Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers, the 100 entries are alphabetically organised, from Adorno to Zhang Binglin, and cover individuals from both continental and analytic philosophy. The entries have an identical four-part structure making it easy to compare and contrast information, comprising: * biographical details * a bibliography of major works * a listing of relevant secondary and critical literature * an appraisal of the philosopher's thoughts and achievements. A separate glossary provides an introduction to the origins, development and main features of major philosophical schools and movements and offers select bibliographies to guide the reader to further research.
Women Philosophers of the Seventeenth Century by
Jacqueline Broad explores the writings of such women philosophers as Margaret Cavendish, Anne Conway, Mary Astell and Catherine Trotter Cockburn. Broad demonstrates their relevance to current feminist scholarship. Her book is an accessible study of thinkers whose importance to the history of philosophy is increasingly recognized.
Philosophers of the Renaissance by
1. Ramon Lull (1232-1316): The Activity of God and the Hominization of the World
2. George Gemistos Plethon (ca. 1360-1454), George of Trebizond (1396-1472), and Cardinal Bessarion (1403-1472): The Controversy between Platonists and Aristotelians in the Fifteenth Century
3. Lorenzo Valla (1406/7-1457): Humanism as Philosophy
4. Nicholas of Cusa (1401–1464): Squaring the Circle: Politics, Piety, and Rationality
5. Leon Battista Alberti (1404–1472): Philosophy of Private and Public Life and of Art
6. Giovanni Pico della Mirandola (1463–1494): The Synthetic Reconciliation of All Philosophies
7. Marsilio Ficino (1433-1499): The Aesthetic of the One in the Soul
8. Pietro Pomponazzi (1462-1525): Secular Aristotelianism in the Renaissance
9. Niccolò Macchiavelli (1469-1527): A Good State for Bad People
10. Agrippa von Nettesheim (1486-1535): Philosophical Magic, Empiricism, and Skepticism
11. Juan Luis Vives (1492/93-1540): A Pious Eclectic
12. Philipp Melanchthon (1497-1560): Reformer and Philosopher
13. Petrus Ramus (1515-1572): Method and Reform
14. Bernardino Telesio (1509-1588): New Fundamental Principles of Nature
15. Jacopo Zabarella (1533-1589): The Structure and Method of Scientific Knowledge
16. Michel de Montaigne (1533-1592): Philosophy as the Search for Self-Identity
17. Francesco Patrizi (1529-1597): New Philosophies of History Poetry, and the World
18. Giordano Bruno (1548-1600): Clarifying the Shadows of Ideas
19. Francisco Suárez (1548-1617): Scholasticism after Humanism
20. Tommaso Campanella (1568-1639): The Revolution of Knowledge from the Prison
The premium research databases listed below allow you to access millions of articles from reputable publications like journals, magazines, and reference books. Searching these from off-campus will require you to login with your NetID username and password.
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
 |
