An extensive directory of links arranged by time period as well as geographically in some cases. Separate lists of links are provided for Asian Art, African Art, The Americas, and Pacific Cultures. Other topics include Prints and Photography, Research Resources, Museums and Galleries, and Various & Miscellaneous.
Search by artist's name, artwork title or location of museum. Or browse artists by name, movement, medium, subject or nationality. Lists women artists by time period and includes a guide to art museums worldwide.
A directory of links with annotations to over 400 sites under the following headings: Art History Departments, Research Resources, Resource for Visual Collections, Image Collections and Online Art, Online Exhibitions, Fine Art Schools and Departments, Art Museums, Textual and Linguistic Resources, and New Media Art and Resources.
A Smithsonian Museum. Click on the Collections link for links to discussions on the diversity and uses of, and imagery in, African art. Or use the Advanced Search for various ways to access the collection. To view the current or virtual exhibitions, click Arts and Programs and select On View or Virtual Exhibtions.
"…the only museum in the world dedicated exclusively to recognizing the contributions of women artists." Tour the museum by clicking on The Collection and then selecting a time period or searching by keyword. Advanced search allows for limiting by subject matter, time period, and medium type.
The NEDCC specializes in the preservation of paper-based materials and serves institutions as well as private collections. The Center provides conservation and digitizing services, surveys and consultation, workshops and conferences, preservation resources, and disaster assistance.
"Tate's online glossary is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find on our website. It contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon."
Award-winning virtual museum of photography containting 5,000 individual images from the beginnings of photography through Ansel Adams. Also includes a Research Center with information on early photographic processes, preserving and protecting photographs and links to other photo-history sites.