Differences Between Reference and Article Databases
Reference Databasesprovide background information, statistics, and/or facts about subjects and topics from various print sources. This type of database is usually more subject-specific than an article database. An example of one of our reference databases is the Britannica Academic. Some reference databases, such as Opposing Viewpoints In Context, also include periodical articles.
Article Databasesare just that: databases providing periodical articles. An article database allows you to search through thousands and thousands of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles usually originating from their print sources. Article databases usually provide at least citation information and an abstract (summary of the article); many now also provide the full text article. If it only provides citation information, then it will also include where you can find a print version of an article. An example of an article database: Academic Search Complete. Image:alejandroluisi.deviantart.com/art/
Provides a comprehensive range of information in one complete resource—subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, timelines. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Provides the Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product; also includes the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Provided by Britannica.
Provides biographical information of notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. 2nd edition, 2004. Provided by Gale.
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present. Includes subject entries, biographies, timelines, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale.
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the Post-Gazette & the Tribune Review. Provided by EBSCOhost.