Library Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Z

A
Affordable Health Care Act
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Find information on the new Affordable Health Care Act.
African Americans in the Military
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
This page has resources on the history of African Americans in the military with special focus on the Tuskegee Airmen.
Allied Health
by Mary Ellen Benson - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
ANT 101 Intro to Anthropology (C. Graham)
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
This guide supports ANT101 Introduction to Anthropology (C. Graham).
ANT 102 Cultural Anthropology (C. Graham)
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
This guide supports ANT 102 Cultural Anthropology (C. Graham).
ANT 104 NIN1
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
Research guide for ANT 104: Native American Indians of North America
ANT 110 Graham NIN1 Forensic Anthropology
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Mar 21, 2014
Research Guide for C. Graham's Forensic Anthropology course.
Anthropology
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with research in anthropology and related topics.
Art
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
This guide can assist with research in art and related topics.
ASL/Interpreting
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
This guide can assist with finding resources on American Sign Language and Educational Interpreting.
B
Banned Books
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Created for information about Banned Books Week 2013
Banned Books Week 2013
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Resources and information about banned books and Banned Books Week, celebrating the freedom to read in the U.S.
Big Read Book Selection 2014: THE THINGS THEY CARRIED
by Sally Caldrone - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
by Tim O'Brien
BIO 117 (Dr. Elena Acquisto-Treaster) West Hills
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
This site includes resources to help you locate articles and other information on topics associated with nutrition.
Biology 110 (Skwarecki) North
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 14, 2014
A guide to genetic diseases research using the reference collection and selected research databases.
Black History Month
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Browse Course Guides by Campus
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Sep 6, 2013
BUS 103 Hunter NIN1
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Dec 4, 2013
This resource guide is for use by the students of Professor Hunter's online Principles of Management course.
Business, Economics & Finance
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide can assist with research in business, economics and finance topics.
C
Career Information
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with finding information on a career.
CCAC Expository Writing Project
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Nov 27, 2012
Learn more about CCAC's Expository Writing Project
Children's Literature
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Apr 12, 2013
This guide can assist with research in children's literature and related topics.
Citation Guide
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Oct 28, 2013
This guide will show the basics for citing sources.
CJC 151 (David Schwab) West Hills
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
Resources for Mr. Schwab's CJC 151 research assignment.
Computers & Technologies
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide can assist with research in computers, information technology and related topics.
Copyright & Fair Use
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Jun 21, 2013
The purpose of this guide is to provide faculty, staff, and students at CCAC with an understanding of copyright law and fair use.
Criminal Justice & Law
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide can assist with research in criminal justice and other related topics.
D
Databases & More by Subject
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Databases A to Z
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
DVS (Gail Boyea) North
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Mar 24, 2014
A research guide for Gail Boyea's DVS students.
DVS 060 A. Marks-Vescio, North Campus
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 13, 2013
This guide supports Adina Marks-Vescio's North Campus class.
DVS 060, Allegheny Campus
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
This guide will be useful for DVS 060 students who are researching their assignment on their career.
DVS 060. C. Moreno
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
Starting Points for Library Research
DVS 101 (Gail Boyea) North
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Includes a selection of research resources for The Things They Carried project.
DVS 101 (Rose Musser) West Hills
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 8, 2014
This guide includes a selection of library research tools to accompany the in-class workshop.
DVS 101 / 103, Krishnaiah, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 13, 2014
This guide will be useful for Indira Krishnaiah's DVS 101 / 103 students, at Allegheny Campus, who are working on their library research project.
DVS 101, DiMaria, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Jan 21, 2014
These resources will be useful for your research assignment on famous trials.
DVS 101, Thomas, Homewood
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 14, 2014
These resources will be useful for you research assignment for Hannah Thomas' DVS 101 class at Homewood Brushton Center.
DVS 101. J. Juriga. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
DVS 101/103, Golio, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 7, 2014
These resources will be useful when completing your paper for Marie Golio's assignment on The Hunger Games.
DVS 103 A. Marks-Vescio, North Campus
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This guide supports Adina Marks-Vescio's DVS 160 North Campus class.
DVS 103, Breitbarth, Homewood
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
These resources will be useful for Don Breitbarth's DVS 103 class at Homewood.
DVS 103, DiMaria, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
These resources will be useful for Lisa DiMaria's assignment on The Kite Runner.
DVS 103, Erickson, South Campus
by Sally Caldrone - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
DVS 103, Mahon, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
This guide will be useful for Sandy Mahon's DVS 103 students, at Allegheny Campus, who are working on their library research project.
DVS 103, Young, Allegheny Campus
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 10, 2014
These sources will be useful to complete Carla Young's DVS 103 research assignment.
DVS 103. J. Juriga. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
Shortcuts to Library Resources
DVS. J. Bannister. Boyce
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
This guide provides general resources for writing a paper on some aspect of a family history.
DVS.Afghanistan.Braddock Hills/Boyce
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Mar 3, 2014
This guide connects students to resources about the culture of Afghanistan.
DVS.Gallegos/Moynihan
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Mar 11, 2014
This guide provides links to resources for a research paper with a topic of your choice..
DVS/SDS (Agnes Haggerty) North
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 2, 2014
A collection of resources for career-oriented research.
E
EBSCO eBooks
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Jul 2, 2013
ECD 105, Stufft, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
This guide explains how to find scholarly articles for your Journal Article Review.
ECD113, Young, Allegheny
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Resources to locate databases to review literature related to working with 7-18 year old youth.
Education
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Apr 10, 2014
This guide can assist with research in education and related topics.
Election 2012
by Lillian Reynolds - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
ENG 089, Bruce, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
These sources will be useful for your short argumentative paper for Dee Bruce's ENG 089 class.
ENG 100 / 101, Leskovac, Allegheny Campus
by Marion Couch, Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Apr 7, 2014
Use these resources to complete your writing assignment for Mandi Leskovac's ENG 100 / 101 classes at Allegheny.
ENG 100 J. Talerico, North Campus
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 17, 2014
ENG 100, Cawley, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 6, 2014
These resources will be useful for your ENG 100 assignment for Erin Cawley.
ENG 100, Graf, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
This guide will be useful for your research assignment in Stephen Graf's ENG 100 class at Allegheny.
Eng 100-101 Gentry, Allegheny
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
Assistance for Sophie's World---thesis, antithesis, synthesis. Use these pages for help on topics loosely arising from this novel, especially pro/con issues.
ENG 100. J. Reineke. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
Shortcuts to Library Resources
ENG 101 & 102 (Beau Kester)
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
Resources for the biographical and critical research project.
ENG 101 (Pam Onest), Washington
by Lillian Reynolds - Last Updated Nov 10, 2011
ENG 101 (T. Spragg) West Hills
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
Research resources for Tina Spragg's English 101 students.
ENG 101 - Stephenson, Allegheny
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Research on post-partum depression as it relates to Charlotte Perkins Gillian's The Yellow Wallpaper. Also for discussing and researching related mental disturbances.
ENG 101, Boone, Homewood
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 12, 2014
These resources will be useful for your research paper for Lorenzo Boone's ENG 101 class.
ENG 101, Bruce, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 10, 2014
These resources will be useful for your ENG 101 argumentative paper.
ENG 101, Buford, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 5, 2014
These resources will be useful for Ria Buford's ENG 101 research paper at Allegheny.
ENG 101, Expository Writing, Claytor
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
In Love with Pittsburgh - To understand Pittsburghers, one needs to look at the city’s national image.
ENG 101, Expository Writing, Lang
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Rewriting Food: How Cuisine Shapes Culture, Society, and Consumption. This course examines food and its implications in a cultural and global context.
ENG 101, Rodgers, Allegheny Campus
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 7, 2014
These resources will be useful for your research paper on mental illness for Emily Rodgers' ENG 101 class.
ENG 101. J. Reineke. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
Shortcuts to Library Resources
ENG 101. S. Gotzler. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
Shortcuts to Library Resources
ENG 102 (Ruth Reitenauer)
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
A guide for Ruth Reitenauer's English classes that contains resources for literary criticism research.
ENG 102 Expository Writing, Morales, Allegheny
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
The Rhetoric of AIDS Education - Study the history of public service announcements and other public health messages related to the HIV/AIDS epidemic. Investigate how they function rhetorically -- that is, why or why they aren't persuasive.
ENG 102 Katharine Larkin
by Sally Caldrone, Lillian Reynolds - Last Updated Aug 23, 2013
ENG 102 Rosenthal, Allegheny
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
This class will be researching & writing about Siblings, Spouses & Saboteurs. Look at their relationships & entanglements.
ENG 102 Therese Russo
by Marion Couch - Last Updated Jan 26, 2014
ENG 102, Leskovac, Online Course
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
These resources will be useful for Mandi Leskovac's ENG 102 research assignment.
ENG 102. C. Houghton. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Mar 25, 2014
Information on quality sources and citation aids.
ENG 118 ♦ Gretchen Mullin-Sawicki NIN1
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
This is a research guide created to assist you with Professor Mullin-Sawicki's online section of Women As Writers.
ENG Classes (M.Cersosimo)
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 14, 2014
Includes library research resources and various help guides.
Eng101.Careers.Boyce
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Jul 17, 2013
This guide provides links to career databases for a research assignment.
Eng101/102.Boyce.
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide provides links to online resources for writing a research paper with a general topic.
English & Literature
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
This guide can assist with research in literary criticism.
English 102 (Dr. Throesch)
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Library resources for the research essay assignment.
ESL 100, Grazulis, Allegheny
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Apr 7, 2014
This guide provides resources for Emily Grazulis' ESL 100 course, researching countries and cultures.
Ethnic & Diversity Studies
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide can assist with research in ethnic and diversity studies and related topics.
Evaluate a Web Site
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 3, 2014
These criteria will help you learn the tricks of evaluating web sites.
Evidence-Based Nursing
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Apr 10, 2014
Nursing practice that bases clinical decisions on research, clinical expertise, patient choices, and critical evaluation of the literature. Scope Note from CINAHL.
F
Featured Guides
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Here is a list of specialized guides that we have put together for various occasions.
Film Adaptations
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 31, 2014
Books, stories, plays to movies.
Financial Aid
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with researching financial aid and scholarship opportunities.
G
GED Testing, Allegheny Campus
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
These resources may be helpful for your GED test prep course at Allegheny Campus.
Genealogy and Family History
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
A resource guide for researching genealogy and family history.
General Research Guide
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Dec 6, 2013
A short introduction to the resources and services the library has to offer that is not subject specific.
H
History
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
This guide can assist with research in history and related topics.
Hours & Contacts
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
How to Read a Scholarly Journal Article
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 19, 2010
Guidelines for Understanding and Analyzing Articles from Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals
I
Income Tax Assistance
by Lillian Reynolds - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
L
Library Resources in Bb
by Elora Cunningham, Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Aug 26, 2011
Includes instructions for faculty on integrating a library resources component to a Blackboard course site.
Library Services
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Aug 14, 2013
Find information on Circulation, Reference, and other services.
M
Marcellus Shale
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Resources on Marcellus Shale natural gas industry. Covering the industry, environmental concerns, hydraulic fracturing (fracking), finding aids, statistics, and mapping resources.
MAT107.Float.Boyce
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide provides links to library resources for a research paper.
Medicine & Diseases
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with research on medicine, diseases and other topics.
Music
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with research in music and related topics.
Music 101 ♫ (John Hall) North
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 26, 2014
N
National Library Week 2014
by Sally Caldrone - Last Updated Apr 10, 2014
New Books, South Campus Library
by Lillian Reynolds - Last Updated Dec 11, 2013
New Ebsco Ebooks
by Elora Cunningham, Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
A listing of new ebooks purchased by the CCAC Libraries for the Ebsco ebook collection.
NRN 101, Oakley, Allegheny
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Jul 28, 2011
NUR 210 (M. Cimador) North
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated May 23, 2013
Resources and tools for finding research articles in nursing literature.
NUR-210. Shaheen. Boyce
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide provides links to library books and databases for the research topic: ethics in nursing.
Nursing
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
This guide can assist with research in nursing and related topics.
O
OTA101.JEFFCOAT.BOYCE
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Jul 23, 2013
This guide provides links to databases that provide scholarly information for occupational therapy research.
P
Philosophy
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with research in philosophy and related topics.
PHL 101 (B. Brown)
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Jan 27, 2014
Includes a selection of research tools for conducting biographical research on philosophers.
Pittsburgh Information
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with finding information on Pittsburgh, including local government agencies, local libraries, and links to local newspaper, magazines, and television stations.
Politics & Government
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with research in government, law and other related topics.
Psychology & Mental Health
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 28, 2013
This guide can assist with research in psychology, mental health, and related topics.
Psychology Resources (Prof. Barash) Online
by Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Jan 27, 2014
Includes research resources to support students in Professor Allison Barash's psychology courses.
PTA101.Johnson.Boyce
by Delia Rakoczy - Last Updated Aug 13, 2013
This guide provides links to library resources for physical therapy information.
R
Religion
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
This guide can assist with research in religion and related topics.
RTT 101 - Kelli Collette, Allegheny
by Ruth Byers - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
Radiation therapy is used to treat cancer by shrinking and eliminating tumors, often in conjunction with chemotherapy or surgery.
S
Sciences & Mathematics
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 18, 2014
This guide can assist with research in science and related topics.
SDS 102
by Lillian Reynolds - Last Updated Oct 6, 2011
Pam Onest, Washington Crown Center
SDS 102 - North Campus
by Rebecca Brown, Christopher Galluzzo, Candace Smigla - Last Updated Sep 12, 2013
Includes library orientation resources for North Campus and West Hills SDS102 students.
SDS 102 North Campus (H. Smith-Bent)
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
This guide provides access to library resources to help you find books, DVDs, and articles.
SDS 102. K. Ruscitto. South
by Rick Harrison - Last Updated Oct 29, 2013
September 11 2001
by Sally Caldrone - Last Updated Apr 10, 2014
In commemoration of the 9/11/01 attacks, here is a selection of the myriad of resources available about this tragic event.
Services for Faculty
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 4, 2014
Use this guide to learn about CCAC Library services that can support faculty.
SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology (C. Graham)
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
This is a guide support SOC 101 Intro to Sociology (C. Graham).
SOC 160 Graham NIN1
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Jun 10, 2013
This guide is intended to assist you with your research for Professor Graham's Women's Studies course.
SOC 210 Soc Sexual Behavior
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
SOC 213 Sociology Health and Illness (C. Graham)
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 27, 2014
This guide supports C. Graham's Sociology of Health and Illness course.
Social Issues & Current Events
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 21, 2014
This guide can assist with research in social issues and controversial topics.
Sociology
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide can assist with research in sociology and related topics.
Speech & Communications
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
This guide can assist with developing topics for speeches and research in communications.
Statistical Data
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
This guide can help you find useful statistics to support your research.
V
Veterans and Military Health
by CCAC Library - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
Health care information resources for veterans and military personnel.
Video Tutorials
by Elora Cunningham, Christopher Galluzzo - Last Updated Aug 23, 2013
W
Women's History Month
by Elora Cunningham - Last Updated Mar 3, 2014
Z
Zombies
by Candace Smigla - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Zombies vs. the Library

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA