Skip to main content
Organizations & Associations
Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses
AMSN is the only professional organization dedicated to the medical-surgical field of nursing.
American Academy of Nursing
The ANA provides the latest news articles, programs, a list of conferences and meetings, the latest annual report and more.
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
AACN provides standards for baccalaureate and graduate-degree programs, and seeks to advance nursing education, research and practice.
American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN)
Critical care nursing is now one of the largest segments of the nursing community: this site represents their professional organization, featuring discussions and publications, and topics of education, clinical practice and certification.
American Association of Diabetes Educators
The AADE is comprised of 10,000 health care professionals who provide diabetes care and education. The site provides assess to research information, a bulletin board, and a map to locate the nearest diabetic educator.
American Association of Legal Nurse Consultants
A nonprofit organization, AALNC is dedicated to the professional enhancement of nurses who serve as consultants in the legal field. The site is relevant to legal nurse consultants, anyone thinking about becoming one, or looking for one.
American Association of Neuroscience Nurses
Through continuing education, information dissemination and standard setting, AANN strives to provide the highest standard of care for neuroscience patients. Access to information covering publications, continuing education, grants and scholarships and marketing opportunities is provided.
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)
Founded in 1931, the AANA promotes education, standards and guidelines and provides consultation to both private and public sectors.
American Association of Occupational Health Nursing
AAOHN members are registered nurses who provide health care for the nation's workers.
American College of Nurse Practitioners
Based in Washington, D.C., ACNP keeps nurse practitioners current in legislative, regulatory and clinical practices.
American College of Nurse-Midwives
The oldest women's health care organization in the U.S., ACNM promotes the health and well being of women and infants by developing and supporting the profession of midwifery.
American Forensic Nurses
This site was founded by a Certified Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner, Faye Battiste Otto, to meet the forensic evidence collection needs of law enforcement agencies.
American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA)
Founded in 1981, AHNA strives to bring the concepts of holism to every aspect of nursing.
American Nurses Association/Nursing World
ANA's mission is to enhance the profession of nursing by fostering high standards of nursing practice and by lobbying Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues.
American Nurses Credentialing Center
This site offers information about certification criteria for nurses practicing in various clinical settings.
Association of Nurses in AIDS Care
Founded in 1987, ANAC is dedicated to meeting the needs of nurses providing AIDS/HIV care, research and prevention.
Association of Pediatric Hemotology/Oncology Nurses (APHON)
APON is the leading professional organization for registered nurses caring for children and adolescents with cancer.
Association of Perioperative Registered Nurses
AORN's focus is to promote quality patient care to those undergoing operative and other invasive procedures.
Association of Rehabilitation Nurses
This association's web site offers journal articles, as well as information about certification, and educational opportunities.
Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses
Representing more than 22,000 health care professionals, AWHONN is dedicated to providing exceptional health care to women and newborns in hospitals, at home and in ambulatory settings.
Canadian Nurses Association (CNA)
The content of this site, which includes a calendar of events, links, and publications is available in both English and French.
Emergency Nurses Association
The ENA site provides a comprehensive background on the organization - calendar of events, state chapters, history, FAQ's - as well as a listserv and related sites.
National Association for Home Care and Hospice - HOMECARE Online
NAHC is an organization dedicated to making life easier for home care and hospice providers. HOMECARE Online, NAHC's virtual headquarters, provides a forum for sharing news and information, statistics, and career opportunities.
National Association for Practical Nurse Education & Service
Founded in 1941, NAPNES is the world's oldest nursing organization dedicated exclusively to promotion of quality nursing service through the practice of licensed practical/vocational nurses.
National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN)
NANN's site includes background and member information, chapters, publications, a listserv and news.
National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses (NAON)
In addition to an updated links section, NAON's site offers background on the organization, certification criteria, award information and on-line continuing education.
National Association of School Nurses, Inc.
Incorporated in 1979, NASN is a non profit organization that represents school nurses. The site features links, legislative updates, FAQ's, membership information and a listing of conferences and affiliates.
National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. (NCSBN)
NCSBN is the developer of the NCLEX examination. Their site includes educational issues, multistate regulation information, licensure requirements and maintenance, and a database on acts and regulations.
National Federation of Licensed Practical Nurses
NFLPN is the professional organization for licensed practical nurses and licensed vocational nurses and practical/vocational nursing students in the U.S.
National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
The NINR is the nursing portion of the National Institutes of Health; their web site offers research and clinical information for those in the nursing profession.
National League for Nursing (NLN)
The NLN includes up to date information about tests and testing services, accrediation, meetings, workshops, and membership.
National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA)
All nursing students are welcome to join this non profit organization; state chapters are provided at the web site.
Oncology Nursing Society
The Oncology Nursing Society, who produce this site, is dedicated to improving oncology nursing care by promoting public, educational and legislative awareness efforts.
Respiratory Nursing Society
This organization is for nurses interested in respiratory health and the nursing care of those afflicted with respiratory disorders.
Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
The Honor Society of Nursing's web site offers access to organizational information, research materials and links.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2018