Provides statistics and analysis on topics such as "corrections, law enforcement, courts, victims, crime type, and criminal justice data improvement program" (site). Additonal links to publications are provided.
Provides data on all aspects of corrections. To find statistical data on prisons, click the About Us tab on the Home Page, then click Statistics on the drop down menu. For research and reports, click the Resources tab. This site also provides extensive information on careers in corrections.
Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Click on the Search Q & A link "to get fast answers to many of your questions by searching our knowledge base" (site). Responses provide links to the sources where the answer can be found. Click on the A-Z Publications/Products link for keyword searches or use the links on the left listed under Topics. Results include resources from Q& A, Publications, and Related Links.
The PCCD Web site contains information on all aspects of its activities, including many forms of use to law enforcement personnel, a listing of various grants and other funding opportunities, and several lists of training opportunities, including detailed information on training sites and schedules for constables and deputy sheriffs. It includes many links and much detailed information.
"The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables" (site). Updated data are presented in the What's New section. Browse the Sourcebook by section content lists or the index, or search the site by keyword.
Online version of the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports. Includes the annual publications Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted. Click on the Reports & Publications link under "About Us" tab for additional reports.
American Law Sources Online (ALSO!) is a good source for legal resources of the United States. Each state has links to its categorized online laws. It will also lead to District Court Opinions, municipal or county laws, and secondary authorities.
Find information on the federal court system.Click on Federal Courts tab to locate online publication Understanding the Federal Courts (PDF) which includes information on the structure and jurisdiction of federal courts, an outline of the judicial process, and directories of district and appellate courts. For additional information, look under "Information For" on right side of home page, and select Researchers for link to frequently asked questions.
Prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, this annotated guide provides sources of information on government and law and includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information. Sections include "International and Multinational," "Nations of the World," "U.S. Federal - includes U.S. Code and Constitution links," and "U.S. States and Territories."
A website run by Interpol, which is the world's largest police organization with 190 member countries. News is updated on a regular basis. Click on Interpol Expertise or Crime Areas for additional information regarding the mission of Interpol.
A website miantained by the Cornell University law school. This collection contains selected historic decisions of the United States Supreme Court predating the regular release of court decisions to the Internet. It includes over 600 documents searchable by topic, by litigants' names, and by the authors of the written opinions.
Pennsylvania consolidated statutes, criminal and civil. Browse by title or by topic. Includes links to PA Rules of Court, appellate court decisions, and many other legal sites. Not yet complete but new material is added on a regular basis.
The official site of the U.S. Supreme Court provides information about the court, its history, and the justices; the calendar, docket, opinions, and oral arguments are also included. Supreme Court Files and Docket Files are searchable; many files are PDF format.
Track Congressional legislation from the introduction of a bill until it becomes law. Search by bill number or keyword. Includes several years of the Congressional Record, committee reports, roll call votes and historical documents. "How Our Laws Are Made" and "Enactment of a Law" are provided under "Legislative Process." Includes searchable historical documents (1774-1873).
Using Internet audio technology, entire oral arguments are available for downloading. Cases may be searched by title, citation, subject or date. It is also possible to read synopses of cases (then link to their full text at Findlaw) and biographies of the justices.
Developed by Gail Partin, Associate Law Librarian at Sheely-Lee Law Library, Penn States Dickinson School of Law, this site overcomes "the shortcomings of general web searching by providing a selection of annotated links to the most reliable, substantive sites for U.S. Supreme Court research. The sites mentioned here focus predominantly on information that is freely, or inexpensively, available on the Internet." (site intro)