The Center provides services and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) Ithaca College students, and works to educate and inform the public about the LGBT community. Reading list, resources, national hotlines.
The American Community Survey (ACS) is conducted every year by the Census Bureau, and provides an overview of communities through social, economic, housing, and demographic data. Users can build complex queries; available data begins in 2000.
The Center seeks to contribute to the understanding of the history, heritage, and present position of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in our society. The Community Directory provides numerous links to websites and resources, searchable by state, subject or keyword.
African-American World is produced by PBS Channel 13, WNET in New York City. Sections included are history, arts and culture, race and society, and biographical profiles. There is also a timeline of African American history from the 1400's to the present with links to further PBS readings and programs, a page for children, African American history teaching modules, and pro and con opinions on social issues. Searchable.
Described as "An Online Reference Guide to African American History" this wide-ranging site combines secondary source research and primary source evidence to give users well-researched and -supported information. It is sponsored by Quintard Taylor, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History at the Univ. of Washington, Seattle, and is an outstanding example of quality scholarship in an online format.
The site offers two major sections: general African American history and African American history in the western US. Within each section, readers can choose to view a wide range of primary and secondary sources, encyclopedia entries, links to historically black colleges and universities, multimedia sources, and much more. The content is largely historical, so there is less treatment of current issues, events, ideas, and debates, but as a historical experience, this is one of the best on the Internet.
From The Mariners' Museum in Newport News, Virginia, this online exhibit examines the slave trade and "seeks to increase understanding of this maritime epic and its legacies in the modern world." Topics addressed include departure, middle passage, arrival, abolition, food, education, religion, and music. Images, a quiz, and a bibliography are included.
This site is part of the "Documenting the American South" project of the library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. It "collects autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials. These texts present a collected history of the way Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life." (Home Page)
"Coverage begins with white churches' conversion efforts, especially in the post-Revolutionary period, and depicts the tensions and contradictions between the egalitarian potential of evangelical Christianity and the realities of slavery. It focuses, through slave narratives and observations by other African American authors, on how the black community adapted evangelical Christianity, making it a metaphor for freedom, community, and personal survival." (Home Page)
The University of Georgia's Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) is an excellent resource for educators wishing to incorporate primary source material into the classroom. At the core of the CRDL project are the unedited film archives of WSB-TV (Atlanta) and WALB-TV (Albany), held at the university's Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection.
The aim of this project is to collect documents written by emancipated slaves that convey the experience of emancipation. Though the site is primarily geared toward marketing printed versions of these documents, there are enough online samples to make the site useful. Includes texts from letters, diaries, narratives, etc. Some material on the experience of black soldiers in the Civil War.
The official Kwanzaa web site. Features the annual Kwanzaa message from Dr. Maulana Karenga, founder of the holiday. Site describes the African roots of the festival, its seven principles, its seven symbols, and provides a detailed guide to celebrating Kwanzaa.
Maintained by Abdul Alkalimet, a professor at the University of Toledo, this extensive site includes a detailed chronology of Malcolm X's life, a list of his writings and speeches with some available online as text or sound files, bibliographies of source materials, and a "webliography" of related web sites.
The mission of the King Papers Project is to publish a definitive edition of Dr. King's speeches and writings. The Project's website features the full-text of some of his most famous papers, speeches, and sermons. Sponsored jointly by the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change and Stanford University.
This site presents full text digitized editions of slave narratives, provided by the library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. This is part of the library's "Documenting the American South" project, with interviews of former slaves conducted by the Works Progress Administration between 1936 and 1938. It also collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of the struggle for freedom and human rights in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries.
When completed, it will include all the narratives of fugitive and former slaves published in broadsides, pamphlets, or book form in English up to 1920 and many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves published in English before 1920. Author, title, subject indexes. Searchable.
The Office of Minority Health, a part of the US Department of Health and Human Services, is a federal agency whose mission is to develop policies and programs to reduce health disparities that adversely affect racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition to the health topics, the site offers funding opportunities, statistical data, reports on cultural competency, and profiles of minority populations.
Special features include federal clearinghouses on various subjects, initiatives related to special populations, and information on outreach efforts and technical assistance available to community-based organizations serving minority populations. The site includes a page with employment opportunities related to minorities and health. Although it will particularly interest minority populations, the information displayed can benefit anyone who conducts research on minority health issues and wants to learn more about consumer health topics that are relevant to special populations.
Produced by American Radio Works, this radio documentary highlights a sampling of the great oratories of African Americans during the last century. Listen to the entire documentary or selected speeches. Included are selections from Booker T. Washington, Fannie Lou Hamer, Martin Luther King, Jr., Jesse Jackson and Barack Obama. A brief biography and the transcripts of each speech are also included. [Real Player]
This website has great value for Harriet Beecher Stowe studies in particular and for US literary and popular history in general. It presents the original text of Uncle Tom's Cabin as published in serial form in the National Era; detailed information about reviews, proslavery opinion, and African American responses; newspaper notices about the novel; brief film clips of the novel as it was interpreted cinematically; photographs and stage bills of theatrical productions; and scholarly essays.
It also includes the novel as a children's book. An area devoted to illustrations provides access to pictures from 19 editions. Users may compare 600 illustrations and view a chart listing which chapters were illustrated in various editions. Finally, the website offers a time line, interpretive exhibits, and lesson plans. This site both introduces the novel to newcomers and provides sophisticated primary materials and search opportunities for advanced scholars of the novel and US culture.
This comprehensive database lists the names of ships, captains, number of crew and slaves, place where slaves were taken and landed, where they were sold, and if anything unusual happened during the voyage. It can be searched by many variables. The fact that the authors and contributors are recognized authorities, including David Eltis and Herbert Klein (who began to collect the material in the 1960s) supports the expectation of reliability.
"On May 17, 1954, the Supreme Court issued a decision in Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas, declaring that 'separate educational facilities are inherently unequal.' This decision was pivotal to the struggle for racial desegregation in the United States. This exhibition commemorates the fiftieth anniversary of this landmark judicial case." (Home Page)
From the Library of Congress, this supurb site includes a tour of the several court cases that led up to the Brown case, the arguments and the public response to the case, and also the effect that the case had on the history of the country. Also includes curriculum resources for instructors as well as other sources for learning more on the subject.
The following sites have been selected and evaluated by a CCAC librarian.
Maintained by the Women and Gender Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), this site contains an extensive categorized list of websites on the topics of women and politics.
This site includes information about conferences, awards, and projects in the field of women's studies. It also features a search tool for jobs in the field, and a comprehensive list of web resources for further study.
"Our mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs." The site contains an extensive list of prominent women with brief biographies, as well as information about events, museums, and publications focused on the area of women's history.
NWLC focuses on modern legal issues facing women today. The website gathers many links to news articles and information that pertains to women's education, health care, income, and employment, to name a few.
Focused on gaining equality for women, the NOW website includes discussion of current issues and events that affect women. An interesting feature of this website is the "Media Hall of Shame" which lists and analyzes instances of sexism in television, newspapers, and magazines.
The NPWF provides links to articles primarily focused on women's health care and the conflict between raising a family and being a part of the workforce. Includes information on issues such as workforce discrimination and retirement security.
A project of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office, focused solely on women's health issues. This website includes PDFs of some publications, fact sheets about disorders and illnesses, nutritional advice, and links to news articles on related topics.
"…the only museum in the world dedicated exclusively to recognizing the contributions of women artists." Tour the museum by clicking on The Collection and then selecting a time period or searching by keyword. Advanced search allows for limiting by subject matter, time period, and medium type.