Skip to main content
Created at your request, Course Guides are customized online research guides to relevant library resources for your course, accessible via the library website. For examples, see:
Do your students need a little extra help? Have them take advantage of tutoring in the Learning Centers. Contact information, schedules, and SmartThinking access are available at the CCAC website.
Each campus has a full Media Services department to support your classroom audio-visual needs. Media Service needs can be requested through the Service Desk, 412.237.8700, or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org
Library Resources & Blackboard
Today, it seems, that most all classes have a Blackboard component, traditional and distance learning alike. In an effort to meet our students and faculty where they are, CCAC library has worked with the Distance Learning staff to get subject specific resource guides into your Blackboard courses.
Each Library Subject Guide will give your students access to the most relevant library databases, topical websites that provide quality information, citation guides, easy access to the library books and ebooks.
When copying materials to put on Reserves or to distribute to students, electronically or in class, copyright laws must be followed. While Library staff cannot interpret copyright law, we can direct you to some helpful sources.
Copyright & Fair Use
The purpose of this comprehensive guide is to provide faculty, staff, and students at CCAC with an understanding of copyright law and fair use.
Community College of Allegheny County Regulation Manual Copyright Law
This is the College’s policy on Copyright. It was written in 1978 with very minor revisions in 1996. Go to Regulation 1.07 (not the policy with the same number). This is a Word document.
Copyright Clearance Center
CCC is a fee-based service that will assist you online gaining copyright clearance. They offer a tutorial on how to use their service. Using their Academic Permission Service, permission is granted automatically on hundreds of thousands of publications in their database.
147 Practical Tips for Using Icebreakers with College Students by
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Building a sense of community in the classroom is key to fostering a safe and supportive environment for learning. Icebreakers are designed specifically for this purpose - to create that sense of a community of learners, working together.
First Time in the College Classroom by
Publication Date: 2010-07-16
This book presents the knowledge base of college teaching in a user-friendly, easy-to-read, yet well-researched format. From sample syllabi to the creation of an effective grading scale, this book covers critically important aspects of organizing and teaching your curriculum.
Student Engagement Techniques by
Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Student Engagement Techniques is a comprehensive resource that offers college teachers a dynamic model for engaging students and includes over one hundred tips, strategies, and techniques that have been proven to help teachers from a wide variety of disciplines and institutions motivate and connect with their students.
Teaching First-Year College Students by
Publication Date: 2006-05-19
Teaching First-Year College Students is a thoroughly expanded and updated edition of Teaching College Freshmen which has become a classic in the field since it was published in 1991. The book offers concrete suggestions about specific strategies and approaches for faculty who teach first-year courses.
Collaborative Learning Techniques by
Publication Date: 2004-10-12
Collaborative Learning Techniques is a scholarly and well-written handbook that guides teachers through all aspects of group work, providing solid information on what to do, how to do it, and why it is important to student learning.
The Joy of Teaching by
Publication Date: 2005-03-21
Gathering concepts and techniques borrowed from outstanding college professors, The Joy of Teaching provides helpful guidance for new instructors developing and teaching their first college courses. .
The Adjunct Professor's Guide to Success by
Publication Date: 1998-12-18
This book provides the guidance and addresses the issues imperative to the adjunct professor. Each chapter addresses classroom survival issues with appropriate context and bulleted lists of "Do's and Don'ts."
The College Fear Factor by
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Eye-opening even for experienced faculty and administrators, this book reveals how the traditional college culture can actually pose obstacles to students' success, and suggests strategies for effectively explaining academic expectations.
The Skillful Teacher by
Publication Date: 1990-10-19
"Insights and practical suggestions to college educators for whom teaching students is a major part of their professional responsibility.... [Brookfield] will become to the field of education what Peter Drucker has become to management: a scholar who educates and influences practitioners in the field through incisive and challenging writing."
Community College Student Success by
Publication Date: 2012-12-19
Student Success: From Board Rooms to Classrooms analyzes the emerging body of scholarly research on student success in an accessible and readable way that community college leaders will find both interesting and relevant.
Minding the Dream by
Publication Date: 2008-01-28
The authors, who are both committed practitioners, extol the dream of community colleges and expose those parts that are yet unfulfilled. They tell the real story of community colleges using the research of their colleagues in the field to provide the most comprehensive and accurate picture of the contemporary state of community colleges.
Marginalized Students by
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Gone are the days when the term "diversity" may have been used to solely signify the color of one's skin or gender. This volume examines how "diverse" and "marginalized" populations are situated within American community colleges and pushes the boundaries of our understanding of these terms.
Contemplative Teaching and Learning by
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Higher education has historically done well in fostering teaching and learning with respect to critical reasoning and quantitative analysis-what might be described as higher-order thinking skills. But in our culture today, which can best be described as one of distraction, we also need an education-a kind of thinking, of being, of knowing-that fosters teaching and learning that develops methods and practice.
Online Education by
Publication Date: 2010-06-21
This volume highlights existing issues in online courses and programs and provides strategies for addressing them as the demand for online education continues to grow.
Student Athletes and Athletics by
Publication Date: 2009-10-19
This volume is but a step in correcting the dearth of literature specific to community college athletics. Within this volume, we bring together scholars and practitioners from various academic disciplines and geographic locations to present information, discussion, and research on issues related to athletics at the community college.
Are Community Colleges Underprepared for Underprepared Students by
Publication Date: 2009-01-20
This volume steps outside entrenched habits of viewing the underprepared student as the central problem in improving student outcomes and highlights new questions and approaches that focus on addressing the reality of student needs.
How to Succeed in Academics by
Publication Date: 2010-04-07
This new edition of How to Succeed in Academics provides up-to-date mentoring on all aspects of a successful academic career, particularly a career in the sciences.
Teaching Your First College Class by
Publication Date: 2008-05-20
"In addition to practical tips, the book offers a very basic introduction to the scholarship of teaching Readers who want a practical resource without the distractions of first-person narrative will find exactly what they are looking for in this book.
On Course by
Publication Date: 2008-05-30
Full of experienced-tested, research based advice for graduate students and new teaching faculty, this book provides a range of innovative and traditional strategies that work well without requiring extensive preparation or long grading sessions when you're trying to meet your own demanding research and service requirements.
Adjunct Faculty Handbook by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Praise for the "First Edition "" The book is very comprehensive. It gives plenty of practical examples and also refers to teaching and learning theory.
What the Best College Teachers Do by
Publication Date: 2004-04-30
What makes a great teacher great? Who are the professors students remember long after graduation? This book, the conclusion of a fifteen-year study of nearly one hundred college teachers in a wide variety of fields and universities, offers valuable answers for all educators.
Quick Hits for New Faculty by
Publication Date: 2004-09-15
This is the third and latest book in the "Quick Hits" tradition of providing sound advice from award-winning college faculty. This volume is designed to help new faculty negotiate the challenges of college teaching.
The Purposeful Classroom by
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
How can teachers guarantee that what they teach results in students learning what they really need to know? In The Purposeful Classroom: How to Structure Lessons with Learning Goals in Mind, Douglas Fisher and Nancy Frey present a variety of strategies that teachers at all levels can use to ensure that students clearly understand the purpose behind every lesson.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2014