An excellent resource for locating full text works "of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization." Users may use a basic search box to locate resources, or browse by Author, Title, Genre, and Language. There are also several links to further classical e-texts and guides to Medieval studies.
This extensive digital library collection, maintained by the University of Virginia, "contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present." Users may browse the collection by last name of the author or by area of interest (Women writers, African American writers, others). Each work is accompanied by a bibliographic header that provides information on the electronic text as well as the original print version.
"The Oxford Text Archive holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora." Note: Before accessing texts from the OTA, users must enter an email address to receive the download location for the file.
Representative Poetry Online, maintained by the English Department at the University of Toronto, is the online version of the scholarly text, Representative Poetry. On this site, users can access more than 3,100 poems by 500 poets, both classical and current.
This website from the Indiana University Libraries houses approximately 200 complete texts written by "lesser-known" British women writers of the Nineteenth Century whose works are more difficult to locate. The site includes "anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama." Most of these resources are in the public domain
A project of the Internet Archive the Open Library contains over one million ebooks available for download in various formats including the accessible DAISY format for blind or visually impaired users.
Bartleby.com is a good website to consult for both general reference and full text literary works. Included on the website are the Columbia Encyclopedia (Sixth Edition), the American Heritage Dictionary (Fourth Edition), Roget's Thesaurus, three editions of famous quotations, the American Heritage Book of Usage, Strunk's Elements of Style, and Gray's Anatomy. Also included on the website are full text works of dozens of authors spanning multiple disciplines.
Classicnote.com is the online equivalent of Cliff's Notes (or the popular, but partially fee-based, Sparknotes.com) and is ideal for students looking for plot summaries, discussions of theme, research suggestions, author biographies, character lists, and practice quizzes. There are overview and analysis for hundreds of works of modern and classical literature, as well as links to online articles and relevant websites.
Although this is a personal website, "The Glossary of Poetic Terms" has received very favorable reviews for both comprehensiveness and ease of use. There are hundreds of poetic terms that are covered quite extensively- definition, pronunciation, examples of use, and "hyper-linked keywords & cross references."
This website, constructed by Dr. Kristi Siegel, is ideal for students with limited background in literary theory. Siegel succinctly explores and outlines the dominant modes of modern literary theory, including Marxism, Feminism, Psychoanalytic Criticism, Deconstruction, Postmodernism, and several more. The website also includes links to other quality literary theory sites.
Literary Movements is an extremely informative and easy to use website that provides information on twenty five different movements in American literature and culture (Realism, Transcendentalism, Local Color, Slave Narratives are just a few of the searchable headings). Users simply click on the appropriate heading for in depth information on these movements that include definition, discussion, popular works of the specific genre, and examples from texts.
Winner of dozens of online awards for excellence, the Luminarium is an enormous website that covers the Medieval Period, the Renaissance, and the 17th century. There is information about each time period, as well as the notable authors. In addition, there are links to full text works and critical essays about the authors and their writings. Users may browse the collection by time period or use the "Search" option at the bottom of the screen.
This website is an absolutely essential stop for any person conducting research on the Bard. Among the many valuable tools on this website are a Shakespeare Timeline, Genealogy, and Quiz, as well as information on the Renaissance, Shakespeare's theatre, current Shakespeare festivals, and links to full text editions of all of his works, critical analyses of his works, and other useful Internet sites.
This site is most helpful when used in conjunction with the book, The Norton Anthology of World Literature, but alone is still as very useful research tool. Included on the site is a detailed audio glossary, several literary timelines and world maps, study and exam questions, links for further research, as well as resources for educators of world literature.
This free ebook by Kathryn VanSpanckeren provides an in depth look at the key periods in American literary history from 1776 to the present. Each epoch is covered in great detail, with information about the key authors and movements. There is also a glossary of literary terms and movements included on the website.
This is an excellent website to consult for students conducting research in American Literature. The site can be searched by time period/literary movement, with each epoch containing vast author lists that include biographies and extensive records of articles and books about the authors and their works.
Although completion of this encyclopedia isn’t expected until late 2012, a working beta version is now available. The third edition of this encyclopedia includes entries on science fiction writing, authors, films, comics, games, characters, and themes. A previous edition of this work is available in print at the North Campus.
The Nineteenth Century in the United States was an era of slavery, though many African Americans broke both the physical and mental chains to express their experiences in writing. This website, produced by the New York Public Library, celebrates the literary achievements of African American Females during this time. Several full text documents, previously available only to scholars, can be viewed online. Users can browse by author or title, fiction or poetry, and biography or autobiography.
One of the most comprehensive sites dedicated to women authors on the Web. Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Library System, students can access a wealth of critical and biographical information (as well as photographs, portraits, and online texts) on countless women authors and can browse by Author Name, Time Period, Country, and Ethnicity.
The sense of land as more than just the space we inhabit, but as an integral part of our being, is a theme that can be traced in most great literature. This theme is explored in Literary Landscapes, a section of the British Library's massive digital project, Collecting Britain. Literary Landscapes offers a fascinating look at the topography in the novels of England's most celebrated authors.
This is an excellent hypertext collection of American Literature that is maintained by the University of Virginia. There are full text works available for more than seventy American authors, many of which are unavailable in other online library collections. In addition to the full text, many authors have links for further information (other websites, print bibliographies, historical photographs, reviews, and more).
Maintained by the Internet Public Library, the website reads, "This website provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites.
While this website is not very visually appealing, it includes a wealth of information suitable for researchers and enthusiasts of ancient women's writing. There are over 125 women writers presented (all but three who wrote in English). By clicking on the author's name, users are linked to a biography, as well as links to online readings/ translations, author pages, print versions of the texts, secondary sources on the major works.
This website, maintained by the Internet Public Library (IPL), is an invaluable resource for students conducting literature research. Users have the option of searching for information by Author, Title, and Literary Period and are immediately linked to critical and biographical sources for hundreds of books and authors.