This is the "Resources & Services" page of the "Services for Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Services for Faculty  

Use this guide to learn about CCAC Library services that can support faculty.
Last Updated: Aug 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ccac.edu/faculty Print Guide Email Alerts

Resources & Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Useful to Know

Get to know us!

The four CCAC libraries house over 250,000 books, DVDs, music CDs, magazines, journals, and newspapers

We provide access to over 55,000 ebooks, including basic reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries

Hundreds of thousands of full text articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers are available through our 60+ research databases

Video tutorials are available on the library website for our most heavily used research databases.

 

Off Campus Access

All of the library's resources are available remotely:

NetID or CCAC Network Account:  used to access all of our research databases, like EBSCOhost, Britannica Online and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.

CCAC ID Number:  used to access our online catalog and the ebrary ebook collection

Helpful Resources

You may find the following Library resources useful for you classes or professional development:

  • NoodleBib
    An online "works cited" and "reference list" tool for both MLA and APA citation styles. This tool walks students through the process of documenting elements of a citation and allows students to generate MLA and APA bibliographies. Students can create folders and store citations for multiple projects. Provided by NoodleTools. PDF Guide
  • Choice Reviews
    Access the full text of Choice Reviews, the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources. Create your own account, initially from a campus computer, to store your personal preferences and to set up email alerts on newly published materials.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    The Chronicle's website features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; and an archive of previously published content. The Library's username & password are required; email library@ccac.edu for the access information.
 

Course Reserves

Materials are housed in the library's reserve collection at each campus to improve access to high use items for a greater number of people.  Reserve items can include resources from the library such as books and periodicals or an instructor's or department's personal materials.

To place an item on Reserve for your students, see the circulation desks at North, Boyce and South.  At Allegheny Campus, see the Reserve Desk on the second floor. 

Loan periods for these items are designated by the faculty member placing the item on reserve.

 

Circulation & Faculty Loan Periods

The chart below shows the circulation periods for faculty using library materials.

Material Type Loan Time
Books 4 weeks
A/V Materials 1 week
Books on Tape / CD 4 weeks
Reserves varies
Periodicals 2 days*

* South Campus does not allow Periodicals to circulate.

Materials can be returned to any CCAC Library circulation desk or a book drop located on any campus.

Materials may be renewed at any campus library's Circulation Desk, by phone, or by logging into your library account in the online catalog. An item cannot be renewed by phone if it is overdue.

If you have any questions, please call the Circulation Desk at your campus:

Allegheny Campus: 412.237.2585
Boyce Campus: 724.325.6712
North Campus: 412.369.3681
South Campus: 412.469.6295

 

Archives

The Library Archives is a depository of material created by or pertaining to individuals and offices of CCAC. If you're looking for that committee report from 1988, or if you're cleaning out your office files, think Archives!  For assistance in locating archival materials or to donate materials, contact Pat Moran, Allegheny Campus, 412.237.6566 or Sally Caldrone, South Campus, 412.469.6294.

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip