This site is a global news service operated by AAAS (The American Association for the Advancement of Science), which provides a central place through which science news can be brought to the media. The news is arranged by science disciplines.
Calculators for just about anything. Main alphabetical listing includes (a small sampling): art, cameras, cooking, air travel, cryptography, finance, grade point average, construction, sound systems, insurance, name translations, music, nutrition, pets (dog's age in human years and vice versa), sports, weather, etc. Major sub-categories are mathematics, science and engineering.
Search for physical constants by name or category. Site provides basic data on each constant. See "Detailed Contents" for explanatory links. Also covers International System of Units (SI) and provides a detailed discussion of uncertainty in measurement.
This site offers access to the latest scientific research via number of high quality open access journals, such as PLOS Biology. The journals are searchable for articles and back issues are available. Click to "PLOS Journals" on the tab to access a list of the journals by subject.
Provides "public access and a unified search of the government's vast stores of scientific and technical information." (Site). Searches over 1700 Web sites and databases. This site is browsable by topic or searchable by keyword.
A leading online magazine and Web portal providing breaking news in science, technology, and medicine. The articles are submitted by leading universities and researching institutions with links to the institution's home page. Browse by topic or search by keyword.
Concentrates on scientific information while searching both Web and journal sources, including non-text files such as PDF, Postscript and other formats. Since most of the journal articles are not available for free, we recommend that you use the Library Databases tab above to search Science FullText Select, Academic Search, or MasterFILE Premier for full-text articles.
Eric Weisstein's site supplies online encyclopedias in astronomy, physics, chemistry and mathematics, as well as a biography of renowned scientists. Users can find excellent, concise explanations of many scientific concepts, and the site is easy to traverse.