It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CJC 151 (David Schwab) West Hills: CJC 151 Research
Resources for Mr. Schwab's CJC 151 research assignment.
This guide is intended for students enrolled in David Schwab's CJC 151 course.
All of the resources listed here are accessible through this site from any Internet-accessible device. Some of them are freely available over the internet, others will require your CCAC NetID username and password.
When you have questions you can find my contact information on the right side of the screen.
In this book the authors clarify the actual meaning of the Ninth Amendment and its connection to the Tenth Amendment in order to provide a clear understanding of the full potential of the two amendments. Historical and contemporary details are included to provide an appreciation of the intended purpose of the amendments.
"This book aims to provide critical information about the U.S. Constitution, with special emphasis on search and seizure. It will help law enforcement officers to increase their legal knowledge about search and seizure and create a framework for effective problem solving and decision making in the field."
The U.S. Justice System: An Encyclopedia is a one-stop resource, uniquely structured to include both introductory information as well as more in-depth and detailed resources. It explains not only how the American civil and criminal justice system affects the parties to a particular case or other legal action, but also how the rights, benefits, and legal protections of our country impact virtually all people in America.
This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical, and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages.
With over 100 new entries, the latest edition of "Guns in American Society" is the most current resource available on all aspects of the gun issue, including rates of violence, gun control, gun rights, regulations and legislation, court decisions, pro- and anti-gun organizations, gun ownership, hunters and collectors, public opinion toward guns, and much more.
Covering the evolution of the American criminal justice system throughout history, the three-volume "Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library explores everything from juvenile justice to organized crime, and includes biographical profiles and primary source documents.
The Constitutional Rights Sourcebook examines fundamental ideas of constitutionalism and American constitutional law through case summaries. The U.S. Supreme Court as an institution is featured and its rulings and rationale are represented throughout the work, beginning with a thorough treatment of the current court and including all the significant rulings since the mid-1980s.
Research Databases for Articles and eBooks
The premium research databases listed below allow you to access millions of articles from reputable publications like journals, magazines, and reference books. Searching these from off-campus will require you to login with your NetID username and password. You can save, print, email, and generate citations for documents in these databases.
Contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale. Show me how
Provides topical articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues; articles include an overview, background information, the current situation concerning the issue, an outlook on possible developments, a special focus, chronology of related events, and pro and con section, and an annotated bibliography. Provided by CQ Press.