This research guide is for Prof. L Ready's DVS classes. It includes resources for finding books and articles, an MLA guide, and contact information for getting help. The URL for this guide is http://libguides.ccac.edu/DVSResearch
Contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Show me how
Provides topical articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues; articles include an overview, background information, the current situation concerning the issue, an outlook on possible developments, a special focus, chronology of related events, and pro and con section, and an annotated bibliography.
Credo contains an excellent collection of topic overviews that can be very helpful in the early stages of a research project. It's also a top-notch reference collection for fact-checking. Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. Show me how
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen.
These academic streaming video collections are available to students both on- and off-campus. Use them to gather background information, explore new topics, and for showing during class presentations.
An online "works cited" and "reference list" tool for both MLA and APA citation styles. This tool walks students through the process of documenting elements of a citation and allows students to generate MLA and APA bibliographies. Students can create folders and store citations for multiple projects. Provided by NoodleTools. PDF Guide | See our Getting started with Noodletools playlist on YouTube
Are you confused about citing sources in research papers? Do you know WHY sources need to be cited? Do you know HOW to cite in your papers? You can find answers to these questions in this StudentLingo workshop now available to CCAC students.
Reference librarians are available at each campus library to help you take advantage of the broad array of print and electronic resources available to you through the CCAC Libraries. For example, a librarian can help you:
Select and focus a research topic.
Devise an effective research strategy.
Locate relevant books, articles, and other information sources.
Evaluate the quality of resources.
Use research tools such as the library catalog and our many periodical databases.
Obtain materials not available on-campus.
Cite and document resources using a style guide like MLA or APA.
Visit the reference desk at any of our library locations during regular business hours to get personalized research assistance. View our locations and hours to get started.
Chat with Us!
Chat with one of our librarians to get library and research help. Our chat service is typically available during regular business hours.
Send Us a Text Message Question
Prefer to contact us via text message? Text your library questions to (412) 312-3206 to get help from the library.
We can also be reached through email. Send your questions to firstname.lastname@example.org
Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.
Check our FAQ
Search our frequently asked questions (FAQ) page to see if your question is covered.
If it's not, get in touch with us using one of the options found on this page.