The Librarians are here to help you with your research. Check out the tools in this Course Guide to get you started.
What are scholarly sources?
Image: Spence School Libraries
Recommended Databases to Start Your Research
Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts, transcripts and videos from reputable news sources.
Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for more than 8500 journals, including full text for more than 7300 peer-reviewed titles. Includes PDF backfiles to 1887 for many publications. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Psychology Gale OneFile provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
CQ Researcher provides topical articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues; articles include an overview, background information, the current situation concerning the issue, an outlook on possible developments, a special focus, chronology of related events, and pro and con section, and an annotated bibliography. Provided by CQ Press.
Issues & Controversies provides more than 900 timely, in-depth, and objective articles, exploring controversial issues and topics. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the Post-Gazette & the Tribune Review. Provided by EBSCOhost.
NYTimes.com covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Create an account for full unlimited access to NYTimes.com. Create Account | LogIn | Help & FAQs
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale.
Use SIMPLE KEYWORDS in search boxes: