It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 213, South: Library Databases
Use this guide to get started on HIS 213 20th Century World History papers and projects
Reference Databases and Article Databases: What's the Difference?
Reference Databasesprovide background information, statistics, and/or facts about subjects and topics from various print sources. Some of these databases include periodical articles, too.
An example of a reference database: Modern World History Online.
Article Databasesare just that: databases providing periodical articles. An article database allows you to search through thousands and thousands of periodical articles usually originating from their print sources. Article databases usually provide at least citation information and an abstract (summary of the article); many provide the full text article. You will note that most of our article databases come from Ebscohost. An example of an article database: Academic Search Complete.
CCAC Libraries offer over 60 databases for your research needs, including Ebscohost databases. Did you know you can search in more than one database at a time in Ebscohost? Here is a link that explains how:
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Includes subject entries, biographies, timelines, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Provides a comprehensive range of information in one complete resource—subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, timelines. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Provides the Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product; also includes the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Provided by Britannica.
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. Provides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular reference sources. Provided by Credo. Show me how
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present. Includes subject entries, biographies, timelines, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the Post-Gazette & the Tribune Review. Provided by EBSCOhost.