It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 213, South: Websites
Use this guide to get started on HIS 213 20th Century World History papers and projects
Below are a variety of librarian-selected websites (in alphabetical order) covering 20th century world history. If you need more websites, then please first refer to the Evaluating Websites tab or page above.
Broad Topic Sites
The following websites pertain to all aspects of twentieth century history. Most are searchable by keyword or browsable.
Created by EdTechTeacher Inc, this award-winning portal contains a vast collection of history websites. A little cumbersome to search (but well-worth the effort!), it contains lists and lists of sites: American, European, Modern, and Military History are some of the areas to peruse. Tip: When first entering the site, try to mouse over from the bottom up.
This website breaks down topics in World History by Region and Time Period. Selecting a region or time period will list results about specific sub-topics and areas. If you are looking for sources related to specific part of history, check out this site.
This site, made available by A&E Television Networks/The History Channel, provides access to articles on historical topics, explores History Channel shows providing videos and full episodes, images, speeches and more.
"A project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning of the City University of New York and the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, this site serves as a gateway to web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence." (site)
HistoryWorld contains separate 300 historical articles and approximately 10,000 searchable timeline events within its unique database. Article pages are listed alphabetically but may also be searched in the main search bar. Article pages also provide information on how to properly cite the website.
Hosted on the Web by Fordham University, this online gateway is great for finding primary historical resources. It provides links to web sites, various full-text historical documents, and multimedia covering religion, culture, politics and more worldwide. Sourcebooks are organized by theme.
A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Primary sources include images, moving images, sound recordings, music, and text. There are more than 9 million items to be found in 100 collections.
Created by the Ohio State University Department of History, this impressive collection of information and primary sources can be browsed by era ("20th Century"), region, or topic. Included are links and videos to time lines, World War II, cultures, and more.
From PBS (Public Broadcasting System), this site provides supporting materials from the film "Race for the Super Bomb". It includes various documents, interview transcripts, a timeline, biographies and more as it relates to the nuclear arms race during the Cold War years. Take a look at the "Special Features".
This site is divided into six areas: the start of the war, who/what caused it, the wartime Alliance, how did the Cold War "work", how close were we to a nuclear war, and Vietnam as a possible turning point. Each of these areas included a glossary, timeline, and more.
This site from the Woodrow Wilson International Center, this site includes government documents from around the world on Cold War history, inter-Korean relations, modern Korean history, and nuclear history.
Created by a librarian, this atlas site contains information largely from the public realm. Such well-known atlases as Hammond's, Rand McNally, and Oxford are used. Many maps include contemporary contexts and there are links to other historical map sites, listed on both a chronological and topical basis.
Developed by the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University, this site presents essays, primary source documents, and interviews with scholars on the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe. Searchable and browsable.
From the BBC (British Broadcasting Corp.), this vast site explores all world wars in the 20th century including Korean, Vietnam, etc. Also includes the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Fall of the Soviet Union, and more.
Developed by the Brigham Young University Libraries, this archive of primary sources includes hundreds of transcribed documents divided into sections such as diaries, conventions, the maritime war, and the medical front. The photograph archive contains over 1800 photos.