Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CCAC Library

DVS ALL, Young, Allegheny: Library Resources

This guide will be useful for DVS students who are researching their assignment on health topics.

healthy lifestyle

Use the library resources and worksheets below to get started on your DVS research project on lifestyle and health.

all images found on pixabay.com

magills

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format.

Worksheet

magills worksheet

credo

Provides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular reference sources.

Worksheet

credo worksheet

consumer health

Provides content on all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream to holistic medicine; designed for the information needs of patients.

Worksheet

consumer health worksheet

masterfile

Provides full text for nearly 1,750 magazines.

Worksheet

masterfile worksheet

health source

Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines on many health topics.

Worksheet

health source worksheet

nytimes

Covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Create Account | LogIn | Help & FAQs.

Worksheet

nytimes worksheet

Read Text Out Loud & Other Accessibility Tools

Several of these databases featured above contain Read Text Out Loud and other accessibility features:

Read Aloud and Translate in Credo Reference

Conduct a search. In your search results, click on the title of an article in Credo Reference. Click the hamburger menu icon in the upper right. 

Choose Read Aloud or Translate.

      Credo Reference Read Aloud and Translate

 

Text-to-Speech and Other Accessibility Features in Masterfile Premier and Health Source Consumer  

Conduct a search in Masterfile or Health Source Consumer. In your search results, click on HTML Full Text under the article description. Click on the Listen (speak) icon at the top of the article. Click the title above for information on the Text-to-Speech feature and other tools that enhance accessibility in EbscoHost databases.

 

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021