Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Not sure how it works? Watch our OneSearch video on YouTube .
 |
Includes literature criticism, biographies, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, primary sources, literary works, images, links to audio and interviews, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Includes subject entries, biographies, timelines, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Includes reference content, periodicals and multimedia allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Includes classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Authors covered include: Robert Frost, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ernest Hemingway and Toni Morrison. Works include Death of a Salesman and To Kill a Mockingbird. Provided by Salem Press.
This 90 volume set of eBooks includes critical coverage of notable works by African American authors and others. Each provides an introductory essay by Harold Bloom in which he offers his insights into the author's work, followed by a representative selection of the best contemporary criticism of the writer. Provided by Infobase Publishing.
This list includes some of the novels by African American authors that are available in the Library's eBook collection.
A. Breeze Harper. Scars : a Black Lesbian Experience in Rural White New England. Brill, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=869916&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Brandon Taylor. Real Life : a Novel. Riverhead Books, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2149633&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Brit Bennett. The Vanishing Half : a Novel. Riverhead Books, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2246693&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Charles Colcock Jones Jr. Gullah Folktales from the Georgia Coast. U of Georgia P, 2000. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=445780&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Colson Whitehead. The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) : a Novel. Vols. First edition, Anchor, 2019. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1929654&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Deesha Philyaw. The Secret Lives of Church Ladies. West Virginia UP, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2516115&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Duffy, Damian, et al. Kindred: A Graphic Novel Adaptation. Abrams ComicArts, 2017. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1468178&site=ehost-live&scope=site
James McBride. Deacon King Kong : a Novel. Riverhead Books, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2174409&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Jennifer Morales. Meet Me Halfway : Milwaukee Stories. U of Wisconsin P, 2015. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=969217&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Jina Ortiz, and Rochelle Spencer. All about Skin : Short Fiction by Women of Color. U of Wisconsin P, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=872997&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Nella Larsen. Passing. Restless Books, 2018. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2126252&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Octavia E. Butler. Kindred. Beacon Press, 2003. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=252482&site=ehost-live&scope=site
---. Parable of the Sower. Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy, 2012. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=823791&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Ralph Ellison. Invisible Man. Vols. 2nd Vintage International ed, Vintage, 1995. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=721937&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Rudolph Fisher, and John McCluskey. The City of Refuge [New and Expanded Edition] : the Collected Stories of Rudolph Fisher. Vols. New and expanded ed, U of Missouri, 2008. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=309279&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Ted Poston, and Kathleen A. Hauke. The Dark Side of Hopkinsville. U of Georgia P, 1991. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=387326&site=ehost-live&scope=site
This section contains selected resources on African American folklore from the CCAC Library.
African American Folktales by
Coming soon!
African American culture has a rich tradition of folktales. Written for students and general readers, this volume gathers a sampling of the most important African American folktales. Included are nearly 50 tales grouped in thematic chapters on origins; heroes, heroines, villains, and fools; society and conflict; and the supernatural.
Gullah Folktales from the Georgia Coast
In 1888, Charles Colcock Jones Jr. published the first collection of folk narratives from the Gullah-speaking people of the South Atlantic coast, tales he heard black servants exchange on his family's rice and cotton plantation. It has been out of print and largely unavailable until now. Jones saw the stories as a coastal variation of Joel Chandler Harris's inland dialect tales and sought to preserve their unique language and character. Through Jones' rendering of the sound and syntax of nineteenth-century Gullah, the lively stories describe the adventures and mishaps of such characters as "Buh Rabbit," "Buh Ban-Yad Rooster," and other animals. The tales range from the humorous to the instructional and include stories of the "sperits," Daddy Jupiter's "vision," a dying bullfrog's last wish, and others about how "buh rabbit gained sense" and "why the turkey buzzard won't eat crabs."
Crossing Borders Through Folklore by
Examining works by Toni Morrison, Paule Marshall, Faith Ringgold, and Betye Saar, this innovative book frames black women's aesthetic sensibilities across art forms. Investigating the relationship between vernacular folk culture and formal expression, this study establishes how each of the four artists engaged the identity issues of the 1960s and used folklore as a strategy for crossing borders in the works they created during the following two decades. As a dynamic, open-ended process, folklore historically has enabled African-descended people to establish differential identity, resist dominance, and affirm group solidarity. This book documents the use of expressive forms of folklore in the fiction of Morrison and Marshall and the use of material forms of folklore in the visual representations of Ringgold and Saar. Offering a conceptual paradigm of a folk aesthetic to designate the practices these women use to revise and reverse meanings--especially meanings imposed on images such as Aunt Jemima and Sambo--Crossing Borders through Folklore explains how these artists locate sites of intervention and reconnection. From these sites, in keeping with the descriptive and prescriptive formulations for art during the sixties, Morrison, Marshall, Ringgold, and Saar articulate new dimensions of consciousness and creatively theorize identity. Crossing Borders through Folklore is a significant and creative contribution to scholarship in both established and still- emerging fields. This volume also demonstrates how recent theorizing across scholarly disciplines has created elastic metaphors that can be used to clarify a number of issues. Because of its interdisciplinary approach, this study will appeal to students and scholars in many fields, including African American literature, art history, women's studies, diaspora studies, and cultural studies.
Selected articles and eBooks on the Harlem Renaissance
Before Harlem : An Anthology of African American Literature From the Long Nineteenth Century by
Despite important recovery and authentication efforts during the last twenty-five years, the vast majority of nineteenth-century African American writers and their work remain unknown to today's readers. Moreover, the most widely used anthologies of black writing have established a canon based largely on current interests and priorities. Seeking to establish a broader perspective, this collection brings together a wealth of autobiographical writings, fiction, poetry, speeches, sermons, essays, and journalism that better portrays the intellectual and cultural debates, social and political struggles, and community publications and institutions that nurtured black writers from the early 1800s to the eve of the Harlem Renaissance. As editor Ajuan Mance notes, previous collections have focused mainly on writing that found a significant audience among white readers. Consequently, authors whose work appeared in African American-owned publications for a primarily black audience--such as Solomon G. Brown, Henrietta Cordelia Ray, and T. Thomas Fortune--have faded from memory. Even figures as celebrated as Frederick Douglass and Paul Laurence Dunbar are today much better known for their "cross-racial" writings than for the larger bodies of work they produced for a mostly African American readership. There has also been a tendency in modern canon making, especially in the genre of autobiography, to stress antebellum writing rather than writings produced after the Civil War and Reconstruction. Similarly, religious writings--despite the centrality of the church in the everyday lives of black readers and the interconnectedness of black spiritual and intellectual life--have not received the emphasis they deserve. Filling those critical gaps with a selection of 143 works by 65 writers, Before Harlem presents as never before an in-depth picture of the literary, aesthetic, and intellectual landscape of nineteenth-century African America and will be a valuable resource for a new generation of readers.
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era by
The Harlem Renaissance is considered one of the most significant periods of creative and intellectual expression for African Americans. Beginning as early as 1914 and lasting into the 1940s, this era saw individuals reject the stereotypes of African Americans and confront the racist, social, political, and economic ideas that denied them citizenship and access to the American Dream. While the majority of recognized literary and artistic contributors to this period were black males, African American women were also key contributors. Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era profiles the most important figures of this cultural and intellectual movement. Highlighting the accomplishments of black women who sought to create positive change after the end of WWI, this reference work includes representatives not only from the literary scene but also: -Activists -Actresses -Artists -Educators -Entrepreneurs -Musicians -Political leaders -Scholars By acknowledging the women who played vital--if not always recognized--roles in this movement, this book shows how their participation helped set the stage for the continued transformation of the black community well into the 1960s. To fully realize the breadth of these contributions, editors Lean'tin L. Bracks and Jessie Carney Smith have assembled profiles written by a number of accomplished academics and historians from across the country. As such, Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era will be of interest to scholars of women's studies, African American studies, and cultural history, as well as students and anyone wishing to learn more about the women of this important era.
Children's Literature of the Harlem Renaissance by
The Harlem Renaissance, the period associated with the flowering of the arts in Harlem, inaugurated a tradition of African American children's literature, for the movement's central writers made youth both their subject and audience. W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Langston Hughes, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, and other Harlem Renaissance figures took an impassioned interest in the literary models offered to children, believing that the ""New Negro"" would ultimately arise from black youth. As a result African American children's literature became a crucial medium through which a disparate community forged bonds of cultural, economic, and aesthetic solidarity. Kate Capshaw Smith explores the period's vigorous exchange about the nature and identity of black childhood and uncovers the networks of African American philosophers, community activists, schoolteachers, and literary artists who worked together to transmit black history and culture to the next generation.
Harlem Renaissance by
The Harlem Renaissance represented an explosion of African American literature, drama, music, and visual art in 1920s America, with such notable figures as Langston Hughes, W.E.B. Du Bois, Zora Neale Hurston, Countee Cullen, Claude McKay, and many more leading the charge. This compilation of essays takes a closer look at this pivotal point in African American history, as well as its origins, identity, portrayal of women, and rediscovered authors.
Images of Black Modernism by
Examines the intersecting contributions of writers and visual artists during a key period in African American cultural history.
Women of the Harlem Renaissance by
"Wall's writing is lively and exuberant. She passes her enthusiasm for these writers' works on to the reader. She captures the mood of the times and follows through with the writers' evolution--sometimes to success, other times to isolation. . . . Women of the Harlem Renaissance is a rare blend of thorough academic research with writing that anyone can appreciate." --Jason Zappe, Copley News Service "By connecting the women to one another, to the cultural movement in which they worked, and to other early 20th-century women writers, Wall deftly defines their place in American literature. Her biographical and literary analysis surpasses others by following up on diverse careers that often ended far past the end of the movement. Highly recommended . . . " --Library Journal "Wall offers a wealth of information and insight on their work, lives and interaction with other writers. . . strong critiques . . . " --Publishers Weekly The lives and works of women artists in the Harlem Renaissance--Jessie Redmon Fauset, Nella Larsen, Zora Neale Hurston, Bessie Smith, and others. Their achievements reflect the struggle of a generation of literary women to depict the lives of Black people, especially Black women, honestly and artfully.
The Harlem Renaissance by
In the 1920s, the neighborhood of Harlem in New York City became the center of a massive cultural explosion. African-American artists of all stripes—authors and poets including Langston Hughes, Claude McKay, and Zora Neale Hurston; singers, musicians, and performance artists including Duke Ellington, Bessie Smith, Louis Armstrong, Paul Robeson, Marian Anderson, and Josephine Baker; and countless others—either called Harlem their home during this period or drew inspiration directly from what was happening there. This curriculum-based eBook discusses the origins and lasting impact of the Harlem Renaissance.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
In the decades of the 1920s and 1930s in Harlem, New York City, there developed a unique awakening of mind and spirit, of race conciousness and artistic advancement. This declaration of African-American independence became known as the Harlem Renaissance and this is a study of the era.
Every Goodbye Ain't Gone by
Showcases brilliant and experimental work in African American poetry. Just prior to the Second World War, and even more explosively in the 1950s and 1960s, a far-reaching revolution in aesthetics and prosody by black poets ensued, some working independently and others in organized groups. Little of this new work was reflected in the anthologies and syllabi of college English courses of the period. Even during the 1970s, when African American literature began to receive substantial critical attention, the work of many experimental black poets continued to be neglected. Every Goodbye Ain't Gone presents the groundbreaking work of many of these poets who carried on the innovative legacies of Melvin Tolson, Gwendolyn Brooks, and Robert Hayden. Whereas poetry by such key figures such as Amiri Baraka, Tolson, Jayne Cortez, Clarence Major, and June Jordan is represented, this anthology also elevates into view the work of less studied poets such as Russell Atkins, Jodi Braxton, David Henderson, Bob Kaufman, Stephen Jonas, and Elouise Loftin. Many of the poems collected in the volume are currently unavailable and some will appear in print here for the first time. Coeditors Aldon Lynn Nielsen and Lauri Ramey provide a critical introduction that situates the poems historically and highlights the ways such poetry has been obscured from view by recent critical and academic practices. The result is a record of experimentation, instigation, and innovation that links contemporary African American poetry to its black modernist roots and extends the terms of modern poetics into the future.
What I Say by
What I Say: Innovative Poetry by Black Writers in America is the second book in a landmark two-volume anthology that explodes narrow definitions of African American poetry by examining experimental poems often excluded from previous scholarship. The first volume, Every Goodbye Ain't Gone, covers the period from the end of World War II to the mid-1970s. In What I Say, editors Aldon Lynn Nielsen and Lauri Ramey have assembled a comprehensive and dynamic collection that brings this pivotal work up to the present day. The elder poets in this collection, such as Nathaniel Mackey, C. S. Giscombe, Will Alexander, and Ron Allen, came of age during and were powerfully influenced by the Black Arts Movement, and What I Say grounds the collection in its black modernist roots. In tracing the fascinating and unexpected paths of experimentation these poets explored, however, Nielsen and Ramey reveal the tight delineations of African American poetry that omitted noncanonical forms. This invigorating panoply of work, when restored, brings into focus the creatively elastic frontiers and multifaceted expressions of contemporary black poetry. Several of the poets discussed in What I Say forged relationships with members of the L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E poetry movement and participated in the broader community of innovative poetry that emerged in the late 1970s and early 1980s and continues to exert a powerful influence today. Each volume can stand on its own, and reading them in tandem will provide a clear vision of how innovative African American poetries have evolved across the twentieth century and into the twenty-first. What I Say is infinitely teachable, compelling, and rewarding. It will appeal to a broad readership of poets, poetics teachers, poetics scholars, students of African American literature in nonnarrative forms, Afro-futurism, and what lies between the modern and the contemporary in global and localized writing practices.
Still Can't Do My Daughter's Hair by
Still Can't Do My Daughter's Hair is the latest book by author William Evans, founder of Black Nerd Problems. Evans is a long-standing voice in the performance poetry scene, who has performed at venues across the country and been featured on numerous final stages, including the National Poetry Slam and Individual World Poetry Slam. Evans's commanding, confident style shines through in these poems, which explore masculinity, fatherhood, and family, and what it means to make a home as a black man in contemporary America.
This citation management tool can help students generate precise citations and create properly-formatted bibliographies in MLA and APA styles. Students can create an unlimited number of projects to keep different research assignments separate and organized. Provided by NoodleTools. PDF Guide
