Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use Media Sources?
CCAC Library Media consists of DVDs, music CDs, and audio CDs.
- can be valid sources for research!!
- give you a visual and emotional understanding of your topic
- can provide authentic, first-hand accounts of events from participants or witnesses in the film
- are great for presentations you must give in front of a class - keep your audience interested and engaged!
- need to be evaluated to determine if they are of good quality
Library Databases & Media Sources
In addition to the Library's media sources (that you can borrow), many of the Library's databases contain images, audio and video files. These files have been evaluated and are extremely credible. Here are just a few you can find in various databases:
American History Online
Opposing Viewpoints - audio files from National Public Radio
Opposing Viewpoints - video files from PBS and other independent organizations
American History Online - video files from Universal Newsreels and other video collections
Kanopy Streaming Videos
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Search general interest magazines, books, primary source documents, and images.
American History Online
Search comprehensive coverage of 500 years of American political, military, social, and cultural history.
Search Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Explore comprehensive coverage of current event topics. Show me how
Films On Demand
Watch Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries relevant to every subject.
Web & Media Sources
Of course, the Web has terrific sources for images, audio files and videos. Many of these can be used for educational purposes without violation of copyright.
Here are just a few great sources:
If you're looking for it, YouTube probably has it. Many organizations host high quality videos on YouTube.
TED Talks began in 1984 as a conference for Technology, Entertainment and Design. The short talks from experts in every field cover a wide range of topics.
Creative Commons is a repository for content that you can freely and legally use; it includes hundreds of millions of works — from images, songs and videos to scientific and academic material — available for free and legal use under the terms of their copyright licenses.
NOTE: If you use a Google or Bing image search, be aware that the images originate from other websites and may be subject to copyright.
Cite your files!
It's easy to embed an image or video, but you should always give credit to the source!
DNA. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Online. Web. 15 Jul. 2014.
"Fed Up With Zero Tolerance In Schools, Advocates Push For Change." All Things Considered 26 Feb. 2014. Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Web. 15 July 2014.
Hartness Library. "What's a Library Database?". YouTube. 29 Aug. 2012. Web. 9 July 2014. https://youtu.be/CQGdNpSh1uk
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021