General article databases are like wide, shallow holes: lots of topics, but not always in depth.
Subject databases are like narrow, deep holes: focused topics, but in depth, comprehensive coverage.
General Article Database
Is your topic general or cross-disciplinary? Currently in the news?
If so, start with a general article database. These cover a wide range of subjects and often include a mixture of popular and scholarly sources. This is often a good place to begin research. Examples of general databases and the kinds of articles they identify are:
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the Post-Gazette & the Tribune Review. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Is your topic in a particular subject area?
If so, use a subject database. These databases specialize in a particular subject, and the articles are generally from scholarly sources. Examples of subject database are:
Provides over 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Provides full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL and is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Get started with our Subject Guides to find the best sources for your topic.