Skip to main content

ENG 101, Allegheny: MLA Style (8th ed.)

This guide provides resources for the ENG 101 argument essay.

MLA Style Guide (8th Edition) Overview &Tutorial

MLAMLA style, developed by the Modern Language Association, is used for English, foreign languages and general topics. MLA requires parenthetical citations within the text and a corresponding bibliography or works cited list at the end of the paper.

Copies of the MLA Handbook may be obtained through the campus libraries, check the library catalog for availability.

 

Purdue – OWL’s MLA Style: List of Works Cited (8th Ed., 2016)

Databases & Citations

Many of the Library Databases provide Citation assistance for the articles.  In the Tools area located on the Detailed Record page and the Article page, look for features like "Cite" or "Cite Now!"

Do a final check to make certain that the citation correct formatting, punctuation and content!

MLA Style Examples

View our concise MLA Style Works Cited Examples and the MLA Style: In-Text Citations (PDF) handouts. 

MLA Guide
MLA in text citing

Dates of Access for Electronic Sources

It is highly recommended that you include dates of access for electronic sources. Include the dates of access at the ends of citations in the following sample format: 01 Jan. 2019.

Sample Paper

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides an MLA Sample Paper which includes Works Cited.

 

Other Resources

Formatting Guides

RobertsLibrary: Formatting an MLA 8th edition Works Cited page

This short video demonstrates the formatting of automatically generated citations.

AB Tech Community College quickly provides a quick guide to formatting an MLA style paper in current versions of Word (including 2016).

How to Setup MLA Formatting in Word Online

Word Online is available to all CCAC students through Academic Email.

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2018