Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 102, Gaito-Lagnese, Allegheny: Library Resources

This guide provides library resources for Professor Gaito-Lagnese's ENG 102 research project.

Basic Criteria to Evaluate Resources

The following are some general, basic criteria to consider when evaluating all your resources.  

Accuracy
Does the information presented seem accurate? Are the facts verifiable?

Authority
Who is the author? What expertise does he or she have on this topic? Who sponsors the site? Check the domain name (.org, .edu, .gov, etc.) to determine if it is a university, business, organization, or an individual.

Objectivity
What is the stated purpose of the site? Check the "About..." link on a web page if there is one. What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased? What kind of sites does this one link to?

Currency
On what date was the page created? Do you need more current information? Do links on the site still work?

Use
Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?

OneSearch

Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.

OneSearch

Advanced Search

Limit Results

OneSearch Limiting

Source Types

Consider limiting your OneSearch results to these source types for your ENG 102 project:

  • Videos
  • Magazine Articles
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Reference Books (e.g. Encyclopedias)
  • Books
  • eBooks

Alexander Street Videos are no longer available.

Streaming Video Databases

Library databases provide many high-quality documentaries. However, Netflix has provided a full-length production of 13th for free on YouTube.

Library Databases - Reference & Overview Articles

The Themes in HIstory sections under Browse Resources in the databases below can provide additional historical context for broader social issues.

Databases for specific issues can also be found in the Social Issues & Current Events and Ethnic & Diversity Studies subject guides.

Library Databases - Magazine & Journal Articles

Limit your results to Video or Media in these databases for streaming video content. 

Article Details

Once you find an article, look for these features:

CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2018