It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 102, Gaito-Lagnese, Allegheny: Library Resources
This guide provides library resources for Professor Gaito-Lagnese's ENG 102 research project.
The following are some general, basic criteria to consider when evaluating all your resources.
Does the information presented seem accurate? Are the facts verifiable?
Who is the author? What expertise does he or she have on this topic? Who sponsors the site? Check the domain name (.org, .edu, .gov, etc.) to determine if it is a university, business, organization, or an individual.
What is the stated purpose of the site? Check the "About..." link on a web page if there is one. What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased? What kind of sites does this one link to?
On what date was the page created? Do you need more current information? Do links on the site still work?
Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Kanopy provides over 14,000 streaming videos including award winning documentaries and classic films that support all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Library databases provide many high-quality documentaries. However, Netflix has provided a full-length production of 13th for free on YouTube.
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. Provides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular reference sources. Provided by Credo. Show me how
Provides topical articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues; articles include an overview, background information, the current situation concerning the issue, an outlook on possible developments, a special focus, chronology of related events, and pro and con section, and an annotated bibliography. Provided by CQ Press. Show me how
TheThemes in HIstorysections under Browse Resources in the databases below can provide additional historical context for broader social issues.
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from mid-15th century to the present. Includes subject entries, biographies, timelines, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Provides a comprehensive range of information in one complete resource—subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, timelines. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history. Provided by FactsOnFile.
Contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale. Show me how
Includes international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues; includes podcasts, video, and interactive graphs. Show me how
Once you find an article, look for these features: