It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide can assist with research in music and related topics.
The Rutgers Institute of Jazz Studies (IJS) has made the exhibition commemorating the 100th birthday of Count Basie available online as one of their Jazz Greats Digital Exhibits. Divided into 19 sections, the Count Basie site is full of music, photographs, and references to books and audiovisual materials. The nine photo essays are particularly worthwhile; musical excerpts can be heard throughout the site, including 23 selections on a virtual jukebox.
This digital collection, made available through the combined efforts of Brown University Library and the Library of Congress, is a unique way for users to explore the history of African American Music. There are thousands of scores available to view, as well as pictures of performers. Users may search by Keyword or browse by Subject, Name, or Title.
As the title suggests, this website is all about jazz. It is a useful tool for both jazz enthusiasts and for those new to this genre. Included on the site are more than 3,600 jazz biographies, as well as news, reviews, festivals, new and archived interviews, a jazz timeline, audio downloads, and tons of photos. There is also a helpful search feature to better navigate the site.
The site provides biographical entries on eight composers, including three women and one African-American, from the period after the Civil War through the first quarter of the 20th century. It includes descriptive essays and digitized choral scores for a selection of their works.
The Blues was one of the original musical styles of the United States, and its influence can still be seen today in everything from rock to rap. Blues Online is a perfect starting point for those with little background in the blues, though it was last updated in 1998. The Directory of Styles breaks down the blues into fifteen subcategories that include brief entries discussing each style and the artists traditionally associated with them. Also included are links to other sites.
This site is mainly for classical music record collectors and offers an impressive collection of information on Western art music. The home page lists seven major sections: Basic Repertoire List (seven conventional periods, from medieval to modern), Classical CD Buying Guide, Recommended Classical CDs (last updated 1992!), Composer's Works and Data, Reviews and Articles (chiefly sound recordings), Books and Scores (recommended reading), and Classical Music Links.
On December 11, 2006 the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum (ISM) unveiled its Digital Mozart Edition (DME), a reproduction of the new collected edition of Mozart's works in a digitized format, providing Mozart's music on the web, including access to different variants and versions of individual compositions, and simultaneous study of scores and critical commentaries. A link to the ISM's website provides information concerning developments in Mozart scholarship.
E-Tabs.org is an essential stop for guitar players of all skill levels. The site, updated hourly, contains nearly 40,000 guitar tablatures! To locate a specific tab, simply enter the artist's (or group) name or song title in the search box at the top of the page. Also included on the website are news and current events in the world of popular music.
Maintained by the Duke University Library system, this is an absolutely fascinating collection. Duke University has long been renowned for its 19th and 20th century sheet music collection, and the "Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920."
This is an interesting website devoted entirely to women in music. The website contains more than 4,500 pages of archival material and, among many other things, has links to art, music, online articles, festival/concert listings, image and photo archives, as well as links to libraries housing significant women in music collections.
This visually elegant, user-friendly Web site presents nonrhyming translations that preserve the meters and word divisions of the originals. It also offers well-researched background material about literary sources, liturgical and secular occasions for which Bach's works were intended, and more. Ambrose states that the translations are freely available for programs and program notes, and asks only for proper attribution.
This site, maintained by Virginia Tech University, is among the best music glossaries on the Internet. There are hundreds of terms included on the website, each with a clear definition, hyperlinks to related terms, and examples (scores, charts, etc.) where necessary. In addition, each term is pronounced audibly simply by clicking it.
Maintained by the Internet Public Library (IPL), Music History 102 is a one stop shop for basic research about "western composers and their music, from the Middle Ages to the present." Included on the site are detailed entries on the six major movements in western music (Middle Ages, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Twentieth Century), explanations of various musical styles, biographies of more than thirty influential composers, and sound clips from each period.
This is a great resource that catalogues numerous digital sheet music collections offered by libraries throughout the United States. A brief abstract is provided for each link to assist users in selecting the appropriate collection.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
This is the ideal website for those searching for comprehensive and easy to understand explanations of Music Theory. The website is suitable for both students and those looking to strengthen their knowledge of Music Theory. Included on the site are diagrams and discussions of Note Reading (Pitch, Values, Meter), Intervals and Scales (Intervals, Scales, Keys), Chords and Symbols (Triads, Inversions, Figured Bass), and Expression Marks (Tempo, Dynamics, Style).
This site, maintained by the Library of Congress, is an excellent source for researchers and enthusiasts of original Native American Music. The site contains recordings from the 1890's and 1980's, as well as historical photographs, spoken word pieces, and audio from two Omaha Pow Wows from the 1980's. This website is certainly one of the most honest and respectful looks at Native American culture on the Web.
OperaGlass is a 10-year-old essential online resource for students and lovers of opera. It presents a simple alphabetical list of operas and associated resources, which generally include a synopsis and/or the full libretto and possibly a partial performance history, discography, pictures, or other source materials. OperaGlass is the best place to start when searching for a libretto.
"Pittsburgh Music History website is an online virtual museum that tells the story of the development of Pittsburgh's musical culture and honors musicians, music industry professionals, and radio personalities from the three state region surrounding Pittsburgh who have achieved national or international recognition for their contributions to the world of music." (from Mission)
This site is one of the 26 Music Research Guides of the Music Library & Sound Recording Archive at Ohio's Bowling Green State University. It is valuable for its Websites tab, which contains links to several good places for information on Hip Hop.
Whether you are a jazz aficionado or just a newcomer, the Red Hot Jazz Archive is an essential stop for information on this art form prior to 1930. On the site, users will find hundreds of jazz biographies, lists of known recordings, essays on jazz, and tons of audio clips. Users may browse the collection by means of several index headings, or use the Search feature that can handle both basic and complex search queries.
This fascinating digital collection, maintained by the Library of Congress, is ideal both for research and enthusiasts of American roots music. It is a multiformat ethnographic field collection that includes nearly 700 sound recordings, as well as field notes, dust jackets, photographs, and other manuscripts documenting a trip through the southern United States." Users can Search the collection by keyword, or Browse the collection by topics.
Few online sources can match the Aria Database. The database is easily navigated using Search and Browse features. There are close to 1300 arias contained on the site (by more than 60 composers), and "besides providing basic information about each aria, the database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions." Also included on the site are operas,translations,aria texts, and MIDI files.
By clicking on the "Resources" link, users can access a guide to "American Music Internet Sources"- a list of websites ranging from opera to jazz to hip-hop. Also included under the "Resources" link are links to "American Music Research Centers" and the Library of Congress' "Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music 1870- 1885"- a digital collection consisting of more than 47,000 pieces of sheet music.
This website is ideal for basic research about symphonies. Included on this site are detailed biographies of twenty of the most famous symphonic composers, ten symphonies (that can be listened to using RealAudio), a symphonic timeline, a "crash course in symphonic form," an in depth guide to instruments in the orchestra, and links to other quality, classical music websites. (note: this is an archived version of the website from 2013)
This website contains "over 125 vintage jazz, dance band, swing and vocal recordings from the Roaring '20s through the Great Depression and the dawn of World War II," as well as "over 60 recordings from the acoustical (pre microphone) era - 1900 - 1925." All of the recordings featured on this site "have been transcribed into streaming Real Audio from the original 78 rpm discs." Also included on the site is a link to Radio Dismuke, anonline radio station devoted to music from the time period.
The Indiana University School of Music has compiled one of the most comprehensive ndexes of music research sites on the Internet. Nine broad subject categories include: Individual Musicians and Popular Groups, Composers and Compositions, Groups and Ensembles, Other Sites Related to Performance, Genres and Types of Music, Research and Study, Journals and Magazines, The Commercial World of Music, and General and Miscellaneous. Each broad heading links to valuable music websites.