It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUR 210 (Prof. Cimador) North: Nursing 210 Research
Resources and tools for finding research articles in nursing literature.
To help determine if an article is a research study, focus your attention on the abstract on the article's first page. Research articles typically include the following sections in the abstract that explain the purpose of the article:
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board.
Starting on page 54 of the Encyclopedia of Nursing Research is a short history of the development and evolution of the CINAHL database. (Requires your CCAC login from off-campus)
The premium research databases listed below allow you to access millions of articles from reputable publications like journals, magazines, and reference books. You can save, print, email, and generate citations for documents in these databases.
Best bet! Start here! Provides full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL and is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic EditionProvides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines; also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Nursing & Allied Health: Gale OneFileProvides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
Health Source: Consumer EditionProvides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provided by EBSCOhost.
MEDLINEProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Provided by EBSCOhost.