Find information on county departments and services. Under "Government" find information on county council, row offices, council districts, the home rule charter, and an organizational chart. Various forms, a county map, and other material are provided under "Information."
Official site of the City of Pittsburgh. Includes the City Code, the Pittsburgh Home Rule Charter, council meeting minutes, budget data (under "City Documents"), sections for each department, online forms (including tax forms) and applications for permits, licenses, etc., and information about city council districts, members, and other top officials. Links to other local information can be found under "Pittsburgh Portal." An "Economic Development" section contains info on city projects.
Through the United Way, the HelpConnections features a searchable online database of regional social and health services. Free registration at the site provides access to additional information and services.
Documenting the numerous river crossings and mountain passages surrounding the city, this site is continually growing and aspires to capture data and photographs of the hundreds of bridges and tunnels in the Pittsburgh area. With an easy to understand format, "Structures" are listed by location, design, name and use. The "Terminology" section provides a simple dictionary of engineering, masonry, bridge, and tunnel jargon. Take a "Tours" to view structures by geographical area.
One of the most comprehensive regional directories, pittsburgh.net features local events and entertainment. The comprehensive site lists restaurants, museums, theaters, and entertainment spots. Also includes information on various Pittsburgh neighborhoods, ethnic communities, and facts about the city.
This online collection contains over 2300 images of Pittsburgh parks, recreation facilities, athletic events, hospitals, mayoral events, traffic situations, and general street scenes. Images capture "historic buildings that may or may not still exist, interesting depictions of home life, and the famous and not so famous people of Pittsburgh." This collection is held by the Archives Service Center (ACS) at the University of Pittsburgh.
This is an editorial site that presents personal views on local events. “The Pittsburgh Independent Media Center is a voluntary collective dedicated to serving the local community with a system for disseminating print and online news. Our coverage will be the issues and events ignored by mainstream media, and also those issues that mainstream media covers with the inherent bias of a news organization run as a business.” (Site intro).
Official site of the Pittsburgh Technology Council. Click "Membership" to access a searchable business directory of over 1800 local high tech companies. Find job listings under "Careers." Selected articles from the Council's TEQ, under “News,” magazine are archived back through 1999.
Established in 1972, the Thomas Merton Center has long been a leader in local social activism, currently operating over thirty projects on the region. The site includes information on the projects, a calendar of events related to social justice, and volunteer opportunities.
"The Pittsburgh Cultural Trust is a nonprofit organization created to stimulate the economic and cultural development of Pittsburgh through the development and promotion of a downtown arts and entertainment district. The Trust encourages and presents diverse performing and visual arts programs in the Cultural District." (Mission Statement)
The National Aviary is the country's only independent indoor nonprofit zoo dedicated exclusively to birds. Located in West Park on Pittsburgh’s historic North Side, (right across the street from Allegheny Campus!) the Aviary’s collection comprises more than 600 birds representing more than 200 species from around the world, many of them threatened or endangered in the wild.
Built in 1898, the Zoo is home to thousands of animals, including 22 threatened or endangered species. Exhibits include an African Savanna, Asian Forest, Kids Kingdom, PPG Aquarium, Tropical Forest and Water's Edge.
"Pittsburgh Music History website is an online virtual museum that tells the story of the development of Pittsburgh's musical culture and honors musicians, music industry professionals, and radio personalities from the three state region surrounding Pittsburgh who have achieved national or international recognition for their contributions to the world of music." (from Mission)