Site is oriented to professional psychologists, however, there are resources that are valuable to undergraduates. Presents full text articles on topics of current interest. The section designed for students includes information about graduate school, financial aid, and careers related to psychology. The section designed for the public has links to articles on popular subjects such as AIDS, anger, depression, disabilities, minorities and violence.
Contains information for both researchers and consumers on mental health disorders including basic brochures and other publications, statistics, multimedia resources, current news, clinical trials information, and more.
Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus is updated daily and offers extensive information on over 600 diseases and conditions. Topics covered include an overview, clinical trials, diagnosis & symptoms, treatment, nutrition, coping, clinical trials, specific conditions and more.
NAMI is a support and advocacy group of friends and relatives of people with mental illnesses. Their site provides access to information on mental illness, medications, advocacy, and a directory to find local NAMI affiliates like NAMI Southwestern PA.
This directory is a well-organized, quick reference collection of articles, Web sites, and research tools. The page is divided between a section listing more comprehensive resources (Web of Addiction, PsychCrawler, Exploratorium's Memory, etc.) and a section of links to more specific topics (articles on ergonomics, Internet addiction, etc.). Maintained by Dr. Michael Fenichel, a clinical psychologist.
Information at this site is provided as a public service to aid in the treatment of developmental, behavioral and mental disorders that affect an estimated 7 to 12 million juveniles in the Unites States.
The Center has compiled a listing of organizations that provide general strategies for coping with disasters - groupings include coping with disasters, helping children and teens and resources for responders, health professionals and states and planners.
The Association has more than 340 affiliates, making it the largest nonprofit mental health organization in the country. A lot of information is available here - especially useful are the FAQs and Mental Health Information section which provides information on mental disorders and is organized by audience, age group, and type of disorder.
Features a searchable online database of regional social and health services. Free registration at the site provides access to additional information and services. Links to the Help Connections Directory below.