Comprehensive site for primary and secondary sources on Budhhism and a directory of other sites. Click on "Buddhist Links" to access the directory. Contains PDF files under eBook Library and zipped files under File Library/Resourses, links for which are at the top of the page. Audio files are under Buddhanet Audio.
Covers Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism. Each religion is presented under the following topics: Cosmos, Organization, Time & Worship, Texts & Tales, Timeline, Religious Life, Glossary, Terms, Maps, Links, and Life Stages.
“Patheos connects seekers, students, and believers to faith communities, scholars, and resources for deeper exploration and greater understanding of faith practices, wisdom traditions, and spirituality.” Major divisions of the website include Library, Topics, Religion Portals, Community, Find, Resources, Columns, and Experts—each with its own subtopics. Provides extensive information on religious traditions, a tool for comparing religions.
“The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world.” Includes controversial social issues such as abortion, death penalty, gay marriage and homosexuality, science and bioethics.
Award-winning directory with short annotations covering categories such as Art & Archaeology, Anthropology & Sociology (includes the subtopics Cults & New Religions, Shamanism & Exorcism, Magic, etc.), Comparative Religion, Ethics & Moral Values, and Psychology of Religion. In addition to categories covering the major world religions, there are links to particular denominations under Confessional Agencies.
The Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion, whose mission is “to strengthen and enhance education in North American theological schools, colleges and universities," provides an annotated list of selected resources including syllabi, texts, journals, web sites, reference sources, software, among others. In addition to browsing by subject,the guide offers other search capabilities: browsing by personal headings and by material types.