Course Materials - OER - Find & Adopt - LibGuides at Community College of Allegheny County

Curated OER

Subject specialists in OER Consortiums have developed these curated lists of OER for courses offered at most Community Colleges.

Achieving the Dream Catalog: Lumen Learning This catalog contains openly-licensed course materials developed for the Open Educational Resources (OER) Degree Initiative, led by Achieving the Dream. Lumen maintains this content in the same condition it was provided to us by participating faculty and institutions. Except where otherwise noted, all material is licensed under a CC BY license.
CA Community Colleges OER Initiative This initiative by the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges involves faculty discipline leads in creating a curated list of resources by discipline, including textbooks, lecture materials, lab materials, webinars, simulations and more. Creation and revision dates are available.
LibreTexts Commons LibreCommons is a curated list of online textbooks from all 14 LibreTexts libraries. Everything in LibreTexts is freely accessible.
Milne Open Textbooks Milne Open Textbooks began as the project Open SUNY Textbooks: an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
Open Oregon Educational Resources Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.
OpenStax A project of Rice University, OpenStax has a growing collection of peer-reviewed, open access textbooks.

OER Search Engines

Use an OER search engine to find multiple OER sources simultaneously, including textbooks and repositories.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) The Mason OER Metafinder searches sixteen targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred or so relevant hits from each site.
OASIS from SUNY OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search), is a search tool that can access 52 different OER sources that contain more than 150,000 items. Was co-developed by Ben Rawlins, director of Milne Library, and Bill Jones ’09, '11, digital resources and systems librarian at SUNY Geneseo.
OER Commons A Creative Commons search engine devoted to open-license educational resources on the web. Use the site just as you would a typical search engine!

General Repositories

In addition to textbooks, general repositories include learning objects, practice exercises, instructional videos, modules, interactive math and science simulations, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures and more.

Achieving the Dream Catalog: Lumen Learning This catalog contains openly-licensed course materials developed for the Open Educational Resources (OER) Degree Initiative, led by Achieving the Dream. Lumen maintains this content in the same condition it was provided to us by participating faculty and institutions. Except where otherwise noted, all material is licensed under a CC BY license.
LibreTexts The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
LibreTexts Workforce
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) "MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy." This repository has a wide variety of resources for most discipline subjects.
NOBA Psychology The Noba catalog covers the traditional scope of introductory psychology and then some. With 103 modules (and counting) we're confident you'll find what you're looking for.
OER Commons "OER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners find Open Educational Resources through a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in our growing collection of over 42,000 high-quality OER."
PhET Math and Science Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
Skills Commons Your FREE and OPEN digital library of Workforce Training Materials Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment.
Skills Common Workforce Training Materials
Wisc-Online Since 1999, we have been building learning objects designed to condense information into small segments that are easy to understand. Our users choose to learn what they want, at their own pace, from anywhere in the world.

Check out CCAC OERs by Discipline collection where many titles are tagged with @CCAC indicating that they are being utilized in a course at the college. If you know of additional OER being used, please contact a librarian to have it added to our list!

Open Textbooks

Open textbooks have been funded, published and licensed to be used, adapted and distributed without any fees. In addition, many of these books are peer reviewed to assess for quality. These books can be downloaded for free or printed at low cost.

Affordable Learning Georgia This repository is administered by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation.
BCcampus The textbooks are created (or, where possible, re-created from existing open educational resources) by BC post-secondary faculty, reviewed by B.C. faculty and made available under a Creative Commons license.
California Open Online Library for Education (COOL4Ed) The three State of California Higher Education Systems are working together to provide you easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning
LibreTexts The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Milne Open Textbooks Milne Open Textbooks began as the project Open SUNY Textbooks: an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
OpenStax A project of Rice University, OpenStax has a growing collection of peer-reviewed, open access textbooks.
Open Textbook Library The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Explore the library's books to see if an open textbook fits your courses, and students needs.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks The open textbooks on this page include several titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy in 2012. Heavily business oriented.

OER - Find & Adopt: Course Materials

Curated OER

OER Search Engines

General Repositories

Open Textbooks