A division of the American Library Association (ALA), this website includes annotated collections of Internet resources for children, parents, teachers, and librarians. Awards and notable book lists are included.
This online database, maintained by Lisa Bartle (Librarian; Cal State), is one of the premier resources available for locating award winning children's literature. The database contains "almost 6,000 records from 72 awards across six English-speaking countries." There are numerous search options that enable users to locate these award winning titles. The Explanation of Awards link gives brief information on each award.
Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Also contains a list of past winners and honors, along with information about the award.
"This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics." (site intro) The curriculum areas link is useful to teachers of grades Pre-K through 8. There is a free quarterly electronic newsletter.
A review service for childrens literature. The site annually reviews more than 3,000 books. This database does require subscription. However, one can still freely access the special features (such as author and illustrator pages) and themed reviews.
This site is a compilation of the "growing number of Internet resources related to Children and Young Adults." It includes discussion boards, links to authors, recommended books, resouces for parents, teachers, etc. and more. A link to the Children's Books Awards is listed under "Quick Reference". About this link: "The most comprehensive guide to English-language children's book prizes on the Internet." (Site introduction)
Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) to the author who made the most distinguished contribution to children's (American) literature. Also contains a list of past winners and honors, along with information about the award.
From the New York Public Library, this is a useful source for parents, teachers and students because it contains booklists, activities, children's literature articles, recommended reading, links to more sites, and much more. Click links across top of web page.
This site is intended for exploring ideas and information in areas of children's literature, young adult literature, genre fiction, 9/11 and children, and related topics. Included are pages on censorship, history of children's literature, and gender and culture in picture books. Maintained by Kay Vandergrift, who specializes in Youth Services at Rutgers University..