This is the "Get Started" page of the "Women's History Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's History Month  

Last Updated: Mar 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ccac.edu/womensHistoryMonth Print Guide Email Alerts
Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Women's History Month - The Origins


Two suffragists, identified as "Mrs. Stanley McCormick and Mrs. Charles Parker," hold a National Woman Suffrage Association banner at an April 1913 rally.

Since 1987, the month of March has been recognized as National Women's History Month in the United States.

A time to study and celebrate women's history, National Women's History Month began in 1978 as Women's History Week in Sonoma County, California. The Education Task Force of the county's Commission on the Status of Women scheduled this first observance for the week of March 8, specifically to include International Women's Day.

In 1981, Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and Representative Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) introduced the Joint Congressional Resolution that turned Sonoma County's annual celebration into National Women's History Week. It was celebrated as such every March, during the week of International Women's Day, until 1986; at that point, the National Women's History Project successfully petitioned Congress to declare all of March National Women's History Month. In every year since then, March - by congressional resolution and presidential proclamation - has been Women's History Month."

image & text from American Women's History Online
 

Origins of Women's History Month

Origins of Women's History Month


Developed by the National Women's History Museum, this video provides a brief look at the history of the Women's History Month and International Womens' Day, March 8th.

Library Databases

 

Use Library Databases to find more information about Women's History Month!

image from National Archives

 

  • American Women's History Online
    Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States. Includes subject entries, biographies, timelines, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts. Provided by FactsOnFile.
  • Britannica Online
    Provides the Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product; also includes the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. Provided by Britannica.
  • Credo Reference
    Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. Provides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular reference sources. Provided by Credo.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Provided by EBSCOhost.
  • EBSCO eBooks
    Provides the content of over 50,000 ebooks. Provided by EBSCOhost.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip