LibGuides: BUS 240, Guercio, Allegheny: Websites

Researching Your Business Plan: Websites

These websites provide additional information for your Business Plan. Look for sites with the extension .gov.

Small Business Administration
The SBA collects information and provides lists of industry statistics and consumer demographics, demand, and spending.
US Census
The US Census contains information on US business patterns and demographics.
US Census County Business Patterns
"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
NAICS Code Look-up
Free Resource for NAICS & SIC Information. A NAICS (pronounced NAKES) Code is a classification within the North American Industry Classification System. The NAICS System was developed for use by Federal Statistical Agencies for the collection, analysis and publication of statistical data related to the US Economy.
ThomasNet
Listings of suppliers and business vendors.

When searching for funding, beware of sites with the extension .org.

PA.gov: Small Business Assistance
"Pennsylvania Business One-Stop Shop is the go-to resource for planning, registering, operating, and growing a business – while working smart and living happy in Pennsylvania."
PA Small Business Grants
Pennsylvania provides small business grants to businesses and organizations in Pennsylvania.
Grants.gov Grant Making Agencies
The convenient e-Government initiative of Grants.gov provides access to information about federal grant-making agencies.
USA.gov: Start and Fund Your Smal Business
Learn from the Small Business Administration (SBA) how to start and fund a small business, from researching the market to launching your new business.

Small Business Administration (SBA) Pittsburgh District Office
The local office for the federal department provides programming and support to area entrepreneurs.
PA Business One-Stop Shop: Registering Your Business
Ready to get your business up and running? Registration is the next key step in your startup journey.
PA.gov Business Record Searches
Click on Business Entity Search to file, search and order records online. Whether you are starting a new business, updating or requesting business records, filing a Uniform Commercial Code financing statement, searching for a registered business, fictitious name or trademark, this hub consolidates all your information needs. Get started by selecting any of the online services below.
City of PIttsburgh New Business Registration
The City of Pittsburgh offers online, mailing and walk-in options to register your business.
City of Pittsburgh Permits, Licenses & Inspections