LibGuides: HIS 213: 20th Century World History: Websites

evaluate websites

The following are some general, basic criteria to consider when evaluating resources:

Accuracy
Does the information presented seem accurate?
Are the facts verifiable?

Authority
Who is the author?
What expertise does he or she have on this topic?
Who sponsors the site?

Objectivity
What is the stated purpose of the site?
Examine the "About..." or "Mission" links on a web page.
What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased?
What kind of sites does this one link to?

Currency
On what date was the page created?
Do you need more current information?
Do links on the site still work?

Use
Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?

Edutopia: 8 Tips to Help Students Evaluate Websites

sites to get started

Best of History Websites
Created by EdTechTeacher Inc, this award-winning portal contains a vast collection of history websites. A little cumbersome to search (but well-worth the effort!), it contains lists and lists of sites: American, European, Modern, and Military History are some of the areas to peruse. Tip: When first entering the site, try to mouse over from the bottom up.
World History Commons
Provides high quality, peer-reviewed resources for teaching and research in world and global history.
History Channel Online
This site, made available by A&E Television Networks/The History Channel,
provides access to articles on historical topics, explores History Channel shows providing videos and full episodes, images, speeches and more.
History Matters
"A project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning of the City University of New York and the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, this site serves as a gateway to web resources and offers unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence." (site)
Library of Congress Digital Collections
A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Primary sources include images, moving images, sound recordings, music, and text. There are more than 9 million items to be found in 100 collections.
OSU eHistory
Created by the Ohio State University Department of History, this impressive collection of information and primary sources can be browsed by era ("20th Century"), region, or topic. Included are links and videos to time lines, World War II, cultures, and more.
World Digital Library
From the Library of Congress, this site contains images of primary sources from around the world. Browsable and searchable.
World History Matters
Developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, this is a portal to world history websites. Searchable and browsable.

topics & timelines

20th Century Timeline
From Pearson Education, this site presents 20th Century world history by decades from 1900 to 1980, then year by year to 1999. World wars are featured links.
Cold War: American Experience - Race for the Super Bomb
From PBS (Public Broadcasting System), this site provides supporting materials from the film "Race for the Super Bomb". It includes various documents, interview transcripts, a timeline, biographies and more as it relates to the nuclear arms race during the Cold War years. Take a look at the "Special Features".
Cold War: British National Archives Learning Curve
This site is divided into six areas: the start of the war, who/what caused it, the wartime Alliance, how did the Cold War "work", how close were we to a nuclear war, and Vietnam as a possible turning point. Each of these areas included a glossary, timeline, and more.
Cold War International History Project
This site from the Woodrow Wilson International Center, this site includes government documents from around the world on Cold War history, inter-Korean relations, modern Korean history, and nuclear history.
Country Profiles - Library of Congress
This research site run by the Library of Congress has overview information on world nations including historical backgrounds. They were originally in print format but have since been put online as part of the Federal Research Division's Country Studies Program.
Making the History of 1989: The Fall of Communism in Eastern Europe
Developed by the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University, this site presents essays, primary source documents, and interviews with scholars on the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe. Searchable and browsable.
World Wars (BBC)
From the BBC (British Broadcasting Corp.), this vast site explores all world wars in the 20th century including Korean, Vietnam, etc. Also includes the Cuban Missile Crisis, the Fall of the Soviet Union, and more.
World War I Document Archive
Developed by the Brigham Young University Libraries, this archive of primary sources includes hundreds of transcribed documents divided into sections such as diaries, conventions, the maritime war, and the medical front. The photograph archive contains over 1800 photos.
History.com: World War I
From the History Channel, this special section includes articles, graphics, and essays.
Library of Congress Guide to World War I Materials and Websites
History.com: World War II
From the History Channel, this special section includes articles, videos, graphics, essays, links, and more.
Library of Congress Guide to World War II Materials and Websites