LibGuides: ENG 101 (Prof. Claytor) North/Online: Library Research

Use the research databases listed here to find articles and other information from sources like newspapers, magazines, and reference materials. See the in-class learning objectives.

Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.

Advanced Search

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains an excellent collection of topic overviews that can be very helpful in the early stages of a research project. It's also a top-notch reference collection for fact-checking. Watch our Credo video!
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains an online library of current event topics; includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Provided by Gale.
Share your topic idea

See the List of Topics Watch our YouTube video!
College In Context This link opens in a new window
A great source for researching current issues. Includes background info and more in-depth articles. See the List of Topics
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explore in-depth and objective articles exploring controversial issues and topics.

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
An online "works cited" and "reference list" tool for both MLA and APA citation styles. This tool walks students through the process of documenting elements of a citation and allows students to generate MLA and APA bibliographies. Students can create folders and store citations for multiple projects. Provided by NoodleTools. PDF Guide Watch our Noodletools tips on YouTube

Reference librarians are available at each campus library to help you take advantage of the broad array of print and electronic resources available to you through the CCAC Libraries. For example, a librarian can help you:

Select and focus a research topic.
Devise an effective research strategy.
Locate relevant books, articles, and other information sources.
Evaluate the quality of resources.
Use research tools such as the library catalog and our many periodical databases.
Obtain materials not available on-campus.
Cite and document resources using a style guide like MLA or APA.

Visit Us

Visit the reference desk at any of our library locations during regular business hours to get personalized research assistance. View our locations and hours to get started.

Chat with Us!

Chat with one of our librarians to get library and research help. Our chat service is typically available during regular business hours.

Make an Appointment

Schedule an online appointment with a librarian for a personalized research session. Select a date & time that works for you and we will schedule your Zoom session!

Make an appointment

Email Us

Send your questions to us at library@ccac.edu

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.

Submit a Question

Submit your question to us using our online form.

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.

Open Question Form

Call Us

Call us and get answers to your library questions.

Reference Desk Telephone Numbers
Allegheny	412-237-2585
Boyce	724-325-6798
North	412-369-3602
South	412-469-6374

Visit our staff directory to find contact information for our staff members.

Check our FAQ

Search our frequently asked questions (FAQ) page to see if your question is covered. If it's not, get in touch with us using one of the options found on this page.

Search our FAQ!

Text Us a Question

Text your library questions to us at (412) 312-3206.

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.

Librarian

Christopher Galluzzo

Contact:

North Campus Library
Community College of Allegheny County
8701 Perry Highway
Pittsburgh, PA 15237-5372
412.369.3663

cgalluzzo@ccac.edu