Student Handbook Language & Sample Syllabus Statements
- Student Handbook Language and Sample Syllabus StatementsIncludes the Use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) statement from the Student Handbook and sample statements for course syllabi.
Readings
- Readings and Research in Artificial Intelligence in Higher EdIncludes selected articles that illustrate how AI can and is being used in higher education.
- Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Teaching and Learning Insights and RecommendationsPublished by the Office of Educational Technology at the U.S. Dept. of Education (May 2023).
- AI, Academic Integrity, and Authentic Assessment: An Ethical Path Forward for EducationThis white paper provides Anthology’s (Blackboard) perspective on best practices to maintain academic integrity, outlining what we believe is the most ethical response to the rise of generative AI, and detailing both the possibilities and limitations of learning technology to support the use of AI in higher education.
- Faculty: Your Classes Must Change. Here's Your Five Step AI Action Plan for FallOffers tips on how to integrate and teach in a time when AI tools are available to your students.
- Should You Add an AI Policy to Your Syllabus?What to consider in drafting your own course policy on students’ use of tools like ChatGPT.
- What Will Determine AI’s Impact on College Teaching? 5 Signs to Watch.Academics have been consumed by its potential to disrupt education, predicting such revolutions as the demise of the college essay and the prospect that AI could pass freshman year at Harvard.
- AI Means Professors Need to Raise Their Grading StandardsChatGPT has transformed grade inflation from a minor corruption to an enterprise-destroying blight.
- Why Professors Are Polarized on AIAcademics who perceive threats to education from AI band together as a survival mechanism. The resulting alliances echo divisions formed during online learning’s emergence.
Tools & Resources
- Teaching with AI: Slides, Citations, and Resources
Compiled by José Antonio Bowen, this document includes a significant collection of links, citations, and other resources on the use of generative AI in education.
- AI Tools & ResourcesFind a selection of AI tools and resources. Watch this file for updates.
- New Artificial Intelligence features in Blackboard Learn Ultra
View this 13-minute video from Blackboard to learn more about their progress related to ethical using of artificial intelligence in higher education.
- Classroom Policies for AI Generative Tools
This collection of sample course policy statements is maintained by Lance Eaton (College Unbound) to help
instructors see the range of policies available by other educators to help in the development of their own for navigating AI-Generative Tools (such as ChatGPT, MidJourney, Dall-E, etc).
- A Guide for Students: Should I Use AI?
Faculty can share this with students to help them decide if and when they should use AI resources.
- Data Skills: Empowering the Future Workforce for an AI World
Tableau created this resource guide to help university leaders and instructors support data literacy and become AI-ready.
- Authentic Assessment in an AI-Enabled WorldAuthentic assessment evaluates students using person-to-person activities such as presentations, collaborations, feedback sessions, and anything that requires them to apply their knowledge and skills to real-world scenarios, rather than simply memorizing a set of facts for a traditional quiz or test.
Accessibility
- Accessibility and AI
Use this collection of articles and tools to explore implications for disability, accessibility, and AI.
