Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide for Nursing 210 will help you use the best research tools for finding nursing and medical journal articles.
Explore the Abstract!
To help determine if an article is a research study, focus your attention on the abstract on the article's first page. Research articles typically include the following sections in the abstract that explain the purpose of the article:
Nursing Research Critiques
This ebook provides nursing students with a step-by-step guide to critically analyze evidence from research studies. The introduction
provides an overview of the critique template that is applied throughout the book. The remainder of the text includes reprints of quantitative
studies followed by a critique of each.
Use the links below to see an example article and its corresponding critique.
This video explains how to identify components of scholarly articles so that you can navigate them more efficiently.
Online Nursing Video Collection
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board.
Finding an Article
The premium research databases listed below allow you to access millions of articles from reputable publications like journals, magazines, and reference books. You can save, print, email, and generate citations for documents in these databases.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Best bet! Start here! Provides full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL and is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowSearch academic journals focusing on medical disciplines.
Nursing & Allied Health: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new windowAccess academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowExplore consumer health information.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowAccess selected full text articles in medicine, nursing, the health care system, and much more.
CINAHL Search Tips
Use SIMPLE KEYWORDS in search boxes:
ethics and cancer
ethics and euthanasia
liability and clinical
legal and home health
"legislation and jurisprudence" and nursing
Use LIMITERS to narrow the results.
Research Article Tips
Research articles follow a specific format and are organized into standard sections. Skim the abstract and article for the following sections:
Articles to Skip for This Assignment
Letters to the editor
Editorials & opinion pieces
Meta analysis & meta synthesis
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021