Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 207 African American Literature (Prof. Claytor): Library Resources

Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Not sure how it works? Watch our OneSearch video on YouTube .

OneSearch

Advanced Search

This list includes some of the novels by African American authors that are available in the Library's eBook collection.

A. Breeze Harper. Scars : a Black Lesbian Experience in Rural White New England. Brill, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=869916&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Brandon Taylor. Real Life : a Novel. Riverhead Books, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2149633&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Brit Bennett. The Vanishing Half : a Novel. Riverhead Books, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2246693&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Charles Colcock Jones Jr. Gullah Folktales from the Georgia Coast. U of Georgia P, 2000. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=445780&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Colson Whitehead. The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) : a Novel. Vols. First edition, Anchor, 2019. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1929654&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Deesha Philyaw. The Secret Lives of Church Ladies. West Virginia UP, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2516115&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Duffy, Damian, et al. Kindred: A Graphic Novel Adaptation. Abrams ComicArts, 2017. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1468178&site=ehost-live&scope=site

James McBride. Deacon King Kong : a Novel. Riverhead Books, 2020. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2174409&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Jennifer Morales. Meet Me Halfway : Milwaukee Stories. U of Wisconsin P, 2015. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=969217&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Jina Ortiz, and Rochelle Spencer. All about Skin : Short Fiction by Women of Color. U of Wisconsin P, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=872997&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Nella Larsen. Passing. Restless Books, 2018. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2126252&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Octavia E. Butler. Kindred. Beacon Press, 2003. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=252482&site=ehost-live&scope=site

---. Parable of the Sower. Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy, 2012. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=823791&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ralph Ellison. Invisible Man. Vols. 2nd Vintage International ed, Vintage, 1995. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=721937&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Rudolph Fisher, and John McCluskey. The City of Refuge [New and Expanded Edition] : the Collected Stories of Rudolph Fisher. Vols. New and expanded ed, U of Missouri, 2008. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=309279&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Ted Poston, and Kathleen A. Hauke. The Dark Side of Hopkinsville. U of Georgia P, 1991. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), https://ezproxy.ccac.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=387326&site=ehost-live&scope=site

This section contains selected resources on African American folklore from the CCAC Library.

Selected articles and eBooks on the Harlem Renaissance


View our concise MLA Style handout (PDF) and the guide to citing in-text (PDF). 

MLA Guide
MLA in text citing

Reference librarians are available at each campus library to help you take advantage of the broad array of print and electronic resources available to you through the CCAC Libraries. For example, a librarian can help you:

  • Select and focus a research topic.
  • Devise an effective research strategy.
  • Locate relevant books, articles, and other information sources.
  • Evaluate the quality of resources.
  • Use research tools such as the library catalog and our many periodical databases.
  • Obtain materials not available on-campus.
  • Cite and document resources using a style guide like MLA or APA.
   Chat with Us!
Chat with one of our librarians to get library and research help. Our chat service is typically available during regular business hours.
 
   Make an Appointment
Schedule an online appointment with a librarian for a personalized research session. Select a date & time that works for you and we will schedule your Zoom session!
  Email Us
We can also be reached through email. Send your questions to library@ccac.edu

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.
  Check our FAQ
Search our frequently asked questions (FAQ) page to see if your question is covered. If it's not, get in touch with us using one of the options found on this page.
   Submit a Question
You can use our online form to send us a question.

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.
   Send Us a Text Message Question
Prefer to contact us via text message? Text your library questions to (412) 312-3206 to get help from the library.

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.
Profile Photo
Christopher Galluzzo
Contact:
North Campus Library
Community College of Allegheny County
8701 Perry Highway
Pittsburgh, PA 15237-5372
412.369.3663

cgalluzzo@ccac.edu
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2018