LibGuides: ENG 102, Stanko, Boyce: Dracula

Dracula & Annotated Bibliography

What are scholarly sources?

The publication should be a scholarly journal not a newspaper or popular magazine.
The authors are scholars or professionals in the field and are normally affiliated with an educational institution or organization.
The article should have an abstract, citations and reference list.
Look for a phrases like “this study examines…” or “we did research to find…”
Articles are lengthy with few pictures.
Does not include any advertisements.

Vanderbilt University

Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.

Advanced Search

Practice Article

Aikens, Kristina. "Battling Addictions in Dracula."

Image: Spence School Libraries

Annotating Sources

Parts of Annotation:

MLA Citation
Summary Paragraph
Assessment of Presentation Paragraph

Stanko's Example of Annotated Bibliography Format
Example from the Dracula Annotated Bibliography assignment that demonstrates the desired format.
Example of an MLA Annotated Bibliography
This sample annotated bibliography shows you the structure you should use to write an MLA annotated bibliography and gives examples of evaluative and summary annotations.

It can be used as a template to set up your assignment.

Ms. Peer Editor

MLA 9 MLA style, developed by the Modern Language Association, is used for English, foreign languages and general topics. MLA requires parenthetical citations within the text and a corresponding bibliography or works cited list at the end of the paper. Copies of the MLA Handbook may be obtained through the campus libraries, check the library catalog for availability.

MLA Style Center
The official MLA Style site from the Modern Language Association. Take a look at "Works Cited: A Quick Guide".
MLA Style - Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes resources to help you learn about formatting Works Cited lists, writing in-text citations, following MLA format and more.

View our concise MLA Style handout (PDF) and the guide to citing in-text (PDF).

NoodleTools is an online tool for creating works cited lists. Use it with MLA, APA, or Chicago styles. It helps you create your citations, and generates your bibliography. Create folders and store citations for multiple projects.

CCAC provides NoodleTools to current students, faculty and staff. Contact a librarian if you have any questions. Show Me How Video

NoodleTools Get Started Print Guide

Databases and Citations

Many of the Library Databases provide Citation assistance for the articles. In the Tools area located on the Detailed Record page and the Article page, look for features like "Cite" or "Cite Now!"

Do a final check to make certain that the citation has correct formatting, punctuation, and content!

Katie Wirt

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian
Boyce Campus, N410
kwirt@ccac.edu