The following are some general, basic criteria to consider when evaluating resources:
Does the information presented seem accurate?
Are the facts verifiable?
Who is the author?
What expertise does he or she have on this topic?
Who sponsors the site?
What is the stated purpose of the site?
Examine the "About..." or "Mission" links on a web page.
What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased?
What kind of sites does this one link to?
On what date was the page created?
Do you need more current information?
Do links on the site still work?
Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?
History Channel Online
This site, made available by A&E Television Networks/The History Channel,
provides access to articles on historical topics, explores History Channel shows providing videos and full episodes, images, speeches and more.
History Matters: Making Sense of Evidence (Primary Sources)
This section of the History Matters website "...helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. 'Making Sense of Documents' provide strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. 'Scholars in Action' segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis." (site)
Internet History Sourcebook Project
Hosted on the Web by Fordham University, this project which contains "collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts," is great for finding primary historical resources. The three primary historical sourcebooks cover Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History. Additional historical sourcebooks are organized by theme. In addition to full-text historical documents, one can find links to secondary articles, reviews, discussions, and more.
100 U.S. Milestone Documents
This website contains "...a list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965." (site)
Presidential Libraries and Museums
From the National Archives, this section of the website lists and links to all of the presidential libraries and museums' websites across the U.S. Included in this portal is a presidential documents guide that allows you to access and research, and information about programs and exhibits at each library and museum. Searchable.
Presidents: A Reference Resource
From the Miller Center and the University of Virginia, this site provides information about all U.S. presidents. Includes biographies, essays, images, recordings, speeches, and more.
Library of Congress American Memory
A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Primary sources include images, moving images, sound recordings, music, and text. There are more than 9 million items to be found in 100 collections. Expand browsing search by clicking "List All Collections."
Stories from PA History: Stories of Pennsylvania's Past & Present
From the ExplorePAHistory.com site, this section covers content pertaining to Pennyslvania's history from the first people to live in PA, to Lewis & Clark, to the American Revolution, Gettysburg, and much more, up to present times. Included are video and audio files, images, maps (some interactive), along with links to other content. Searchable and browsable.
Slavery in America - Online Resources (American Historical Association)
This blog site contains links to a number of other sites all pertaining to slavery in America. Sites include the Digital Library on American Slavery from the University of North Carolina, the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Voyages from AHA, and so much more.
Gettysburg (Civil War Trust)
Includes articles, facts and resources, photos, animated battle maps (including Gettysburg 360 - a panorama of the battlefield), videos, news, and recommended reading.
Territorial Expansion of the United States: 1783 - 1853
From the Mapping History Project Site supported by various organizations including The University of Oregon.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021