LibGuides: HIS 203: African American History I : Library Resources

This Course Guide will provide useful resources for your HIS203 assignments. Find:
the textbook
background & article databases
eBooks
course videos
info on scholarly & primary sources
websites & primary sources
citation formats

textbook

African American History and Culture
African American History and Culture focuses on origins, evolution, and the spread of racial slavery beginning with African Origins and concluding with Reconstruction. The text was created by Scott Matthews, Florida State College at Jacksonville. Used in HIS 203.

overview & background sources

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Explore in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to African-American history.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Discover legal materials and primary sources on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Search comprehensive coverage of 500 years of American political, military, social, and cultural history.
Britannica Original Sources This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Access primary sources, documents and personal accounts covering many subject areas.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Discover contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources. Get started with overview and background articles in every subject. Show me how
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product.

article & journal sources

U.S. History: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals and magazines offering balanced coverage of events in U.S. history.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Show me how
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search journals, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and videos.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Find extensive coverage of world religions, history and philosophy in scholarly journals.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Access journals and magazines pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

eBooks

book cover examples

EBSCO eBook collection includes hundreds of books on all aspects of African American - from the start in Africa to abolition after the Civil War and continuing issues of equity. Easily search and pull the relevant pages or chapters.

eBooks: EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Discover academic and popular books.

HIS 203: African American History I : Library Resources

HIS203: African American History I