The following are some general, basic criteria to consider when evaluating resources:
Accuracy
Does the information presented seem accurate?
Are the facts verifiable?
Authority
Who is the author?
What expertise does he or she have on this topic?
Who sponsors the site?
Objectivity
What is the stated purpose of the site?
Examine the "About..." or "Mission" links on a web page.
What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased?
What kind of sites does this one link to?
Currency
On what date was the page created?
Do you need more current information?
Do links on the site still work?
Use
Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?
The following websites pertain to broader and more general aspects and topics that include Pittsburgh, Southwestern PA, and Pennsylvania history. Most are searchable by keyword or browsable.
The sites below contain collections of primary sources relating to Pittsburgh history.
Historic PittsburghHosted by the University of Pittsburgh Library System, this extremely informative site includes links to local historical societies, maps, images, videos, a chronology of the history of Pittsburgh, and more. After clicking the Chronology link, it will take you to a page with a timeline at the top. Just click the timeline to further explore.
CLP: Pittsburgh HistoryFrom the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, here is a list of websites covering all aspects of Pittsburgh History.
Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center"The Senator John Heinz History Center is an educational institution that engages and inspires a large and diverse audience with links to the past, understanding in the present, and guidance for the future by preserving regional history and presenting the American experience with a Western Pennsylvania connection." (site)
Bridges & Tunnels of Allegheny County and Pittsburgh, PADocumenting the numerous river crossings and mountain passages surrounding the city of Pittsburgh, this site is continually growing and aspires to capture data and photographs of the hundreds of bridges and tunnels in this area. With an easy to understand format, "Structures" are listed by location, design, name and use. The "Terminology" section provides a simple dictionary of engineering, masonry, bridge, and tunnel jargon. Take a "Tour" to view structures by geographical area.
Explore PA History: Stories of Pennsylvania's Past & PresentBased on the 2,000 Historical Markers within Pennsylvania's borders, this site organizes themes and stories of Pennsylvania's history.
Teenie Harris ArchiveCharles “Teenie” Harris (1908–1998) was the preeminent photographer for The Pittsburgh Courier, one of the nation’s most prominent Black newspapers photographing Pittsburgh’s historic African American community from 1935 to 1975. His archive of over 70,000 images is one of the most detailed and intimate records of the Black urban experience known today.
Pittsburgh City Archives Digital CollectionsMaintained by the Records Management Division of the Office of the City Clerk and City Council, this collection contains meeting minutes, reports, correspondence, photographs, maps and more from over 200 years of Pittsburgh government activity.
specific topic in pittsburgh history
The following websites below pertain to specific topics within Pittsburgh's history. They are listed under these linked headings:
Also, more information about these topics can be found in the Broad Topic Sites column (left).
Colonization / French & Indian War / Whiskey Rebellion
American JourneysThis site, made available by the Wisconsin Historical Society, includes documents, images and more of "eyewitness accounts of North American exploration and settlement." (site) Read the words of Native Americans, explorers (such as Lewis and Clark), traders, etc.
Bushy Run BattlefieldHosted by the PA Historical & Museum Commission and PA Trails of History, you will find history, news and events, exhibits, and more about this battle.
Colonial American TimelineFrom the Medieval Technology and American History Project of Penn State University, this timeline covers events of Colonial America from 1485 to 1798.
Fort Pitt Block HouseThis informative site contains lots of historical details, videos, interactive media, and more about the Fort Pitt Block House (located in Point State Park, downtown Pittsburgh).
Fort Pitt MuseumLocated at the Senator John Heinz History Center, the Fort Pitt Museum site contains information about "Western PA's pivotal role...in the French & Indian War, the American Revolution, and Early Republic." (site) It includes a timeline and images from the exhibit.
Fort Pitt TimelineFrom The Heinz History Center website, this section provides a timeline of events that took place in and around Fort Pitt (Pittsburgh).
French and Indian War in PennyslvaniaProvided by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, this site focuses on battles and events in Pennsylvania. Note, from home page, the unit plan link on right: "Life at Fort Pitt." Click "Student Resources" for more content. Includes primary sources. Site is searchable and browsable.
Library of Congress: The American Revolution (1763 - 1783)From the Library of Congress site, here is a list of a number of outside websites pertaining to the American Revolution.
Pennsylvania's Forbes TrailThis excellent site takes you along as you visit Forbes Trail across Pennsyvania. The interactive map takes you from Philadelphia to Pittsburgh, explaining what happened in each area. Note links on left to the Washington Trail and the Braddock Trail.
Whiskey Rebellion and French & Indian WarFrom the Mount Vernon website, this section covers the history of both events and George Washington's involvement. For "Washington and the French & Indian War", scroll down the page. Bibliography included.
Discovering Lewis and Clark"Features journal excerpts, natural history lessons, aerial photos of the trail, discussions of important issues in the history of the American West, and information about modern-day Native American tribes." (site)
Journals of the Lewis and Clark ExpeditionFrom the University of Nebraska/Lincoln, this site provides a searchable collection of journal articles, images, multimedia, and maps encompassing the reports of Lewis & Clark during their explorations. Searchable and browsable. Note numerous additional sites listed under "Links".
Lewis & Clark: 200 Years Later"This Pittsburgh Post-Gazette series of eight articles from July and August of 2003 examine the Lewis and Clark expeditions, and the Pittsburgh they found when they arrived to launch their journey. The first article gives background information, provides links to additional material and a list of books, and includes an article about the expedition's start in Pittsburgh." (From Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh)
Manifest DestinyPlease note the additional links on the left side, and the drop down menu above the title of the page.
Andrew Carnegie CollectionFrom the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries, this site includes "Photos, articles, letters and more about Andrew Carnegie's life and work." (site)
Rivers of Steel National Heritage AreaIncludes information on the Pittsburgh area steel-making industry history including archives, videos, information on tours and exhibits. Take a "sneak peak" at the Homestead Labyrinth!
Modern Urbanism / Urban Renewal
HUD in PennsylvaniaU.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development provides this site. Includes an a-z index, is searchable and browsable.
Photographs from the Allegheny Conference on Community Development CollectionFrom the Historic Pittsburgh portal hosted by the University of PIttsburgh. Browse or search the collection.
URA - Urban Redevelopment Authority of PittsburghURA is the City of Pittsburgh's economic development agency, committed to creating jobs, expanding the City's tax base and improving the vitality of businesses and neighborhoods..." (Site) Very informative site. Includes "Pittsburgh in the News".
Urban Renewal - PittsburghFrom the PA Historical & Museum Commission (PHMC), this section of the portal covers the history of both Pittsburgh and Philadelphia's urban renewal. Scroll down the page to find Pittsburgh history, numerousf links, videos, etc. Note the Historic Resource Survey Forms for Pittsburgh (Civil Arena, Gateway Center, etc).
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021
