LibGuides: PSY 101, Lavery & Lesko South: Library Resources

Overview Databases

CQ Researcher
Search topical in-depth articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues. This database does not offer direct exporting to NoodleTools. Copy and paste citations. Show me how
Salem Health
Search selected reference encylopedias on health topics. This database does not allow saving to pdf or exporting to NoodleTools. Copy and paste citations.
Credo Reference
Get started with overview and background articles in every subject. Show me how

Academic Journal Databases

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Explore full text journals covering psychiatry, psychology and related topics.
Psychology: Gale OneFile
Access academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
Academic Search Ultimate
Find journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Show me how
Wiley Online Library
Access the Wiley Community College Collection which includes over 1500 journal titles covering content across all subjects.

Magazine & Newspaper Databases

College In Context
Discover information on a wide array of subjects; includes updated reference content with magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia.
MasterFILE Premier
Search general interest magazines, books, primary source documents, and images.

Gale General OneFile
Access newspapers, magazines and journals from many subjects.
New York Times: NYTimes.com
Create an account for full unlimited access to NYTimes.com. Create Account | LogIn | Help & FAQs

Video: Refining Search Results from Credo

This video from Credo Information Literacy explains how to brainstorm a topic before you begin searching, refine your search based on your results, and manage your search results.

Refining Search Results Video

from Credo Reference

Chart: Scholarly Sources from Credo

Source: Credo Learning Tools

What is Peer Review?

In the peer review process, scholars and experts in a specific area of research review another author's research and writing for accuracy before it is published in a peer-reviewed journal. To learn more about peer reviewed sources, watch a short video on Peer Review from the Library's Credo Information Literacy Learning Module on Sources of Information.

Peer Review Video from Credo Reference

What is Plagiarism?

Watch a short video from the Library's Credo Information Literacy Learning Module on Information Ethics to learn how to cite your sources and avoid plagiarism in your college research and writing

The best way to avoid plagiarism is to cite anything you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or refer to in your paper. Even if you rewrite the author’s passage in your own words, you must credit the author for their idea.

Plagiarism Video Credo Reference

Books & ebooks

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: Reference RC 455.2 .C4 A48 2022

Publication Date: 2022-03-18

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.
Casebook for DSM-5
Call Number: eBook

Multiple cases are presented within each major category of disorders to help students understand the nature of differential diagnosis. Cases also reflect cultural and social consideration in making diagnostic decisions. Each case is consistently formatted to include an overview of the client, symptoms/problems, diagnosis, and treatment interventions, including components, applications, and results/prognosis.
DSM-5® Made Easy by James Morrison
Call Number: eBook

Demystifying DSM-5 criteria without sacrificing accuracy, the book includes ICD-10-CM codes for each disorder. More than 130 detailed case vignettes illustrate typical patient presentations; down-to-earth discussions of each case demonstrate how to arrive at the diagnosis and rule out other likely possibilities.
Global Perspectives on ADHD
Call Number: eBook

Global Perspectives on ADHD is the first book to examine how this expanding public health concern is diagnosed and treated in 16 different countries. Some countries focus on medicating children with ADHD; others emphasize parent intervention or child therapy. Showing how a medical diagnosis varies across contexts and time periods, this book explains how those distinctions shape medical interventions and guidelines, filling a much-needed gap by examining ADHD on an international scale.
The Adverse Childhood Experiences Recovery Workbook by Glenn R. Schiraldi
Call Number: eBook

Practical skills for healing the hidden wounds of childhood trauma We're all a product of our childhood, and if you're like most people, you have experienced some form of childhood trauma. Adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) are at the root of nearly all mental health disorders, including depression, anxiety, panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).
The Stigma Effect by Patrick Corrigan
Call Number: eBook

Despite efforts to redress the prejudice and discrimination faced by people with mental illness, a pervasive stigma remains. Many well-meant programs have attempted to counter stigma with affirming attitudes of recovery and self-determination. Yet the results of these efforts have been mixed. In The Stigma Effect, psychologist Patrick W. Corrigan examines the unintended consequences of mental health campaigns and proposes new policies in their place.
Overcoming Stress-Induced Brain Fog by Jill Weber
Call Number: eBook

Brain fog is real--and it can cloud your thinking, sap your creativity and motivation, and take the joy right out of life. This book offers quick, proven-effective solutions to help you cut through the haze and think clearly.
Mental Health Disorders on Television by Kimberley McMahon-Coleman
Call Number: eBook

In past decades portrayals of mental illness on television were limited to psychotic criminals or comical sidekicks. As public awareness of mental illness has increased so too have its depictions on the small screen. A gradual transition from stereotypes towards more nuanced representations has seen a wide range of lead characters with mental health disorders, including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, OCD, autism spectrum disorder, dissociative identity disorder, anxiety, depression and PTSD. But what are these portrayals saying about mental health and how closely do they align with real-life experiences? Drawing on interviews with people living with mental illness, this book traces these shifts, placing on-screen depictions in context and demonstrating their real world impacts.

Librarian

Jody Wilson

she/her jwilson2@ccac.edu

Email Me

Contact:

Allegheny Campus Library
808 Ridge Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

412.237.2735