Connect to Library Research Tools

This research guide serves as an introduction to resources available to CCAC students on the biological sciences. Below, you will find a mix of databases and literature that can be accessed online and in person.

Research Databases

For more in-depth research and overview information, use the databases below to help get you started.

Environmental Studies & Policy: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Find articles in full-text medical journals, magazines, and reference works on a range of health-related issues. Show me how
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Search general interest magazines, books, primary source documents, and images.
Science Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Find academic journals and magazines for science and related disciplines.
Science In Context This link opens in a new window
Explore this comprehensive coverage of significant science topics.

Criteria for Evaluating

Ultimately, it’s your responsibility to evaluate the quality of any information before using it it a paper, presentation, or some other project.

As a starting point, consider evaluating the authority, objectivity, and currency of sources. Look at the items below for more details and example questions that you can ask when evaluating sources such as books, articles, and websites.

Expertise

What should you ask yourself when trying to determine the expertise level of the person who created the information?

Who created the information?
What kind of education or experience does the author have?
Is contact information available to verify the author's credentials?
Is the author part of a university or some other reputable organization?
Was the information published by a reputable source?
Does the author quote and cite reliable sources?
Is the information posted on a reliable site like a scholarly journal or someplace less reliable like Facebook?

Objectivity

What should you ask when trying to determine the objectivity of a piece of information?

You can describe a source as being objective if it fairly represents various sides of an argument or issue. A source that promotes or favors one side of an argument can be described as biased or an opinionated work.

What’s the purpose of this information?
Is the author trying to sell a product or service?
Is the author trying to persuade you on a controversial topic?
Is the author trying to explain various sides of an issue?
Is the author sharing the results of research on the topic?

Currency

What should you ask yourself when evaluating a piece of information for currency?

When was the information published?
How old is the content of the source?
Does my topic need current information to be accurate or will older information be OK?
Does my assignment require sources that were published within a certain timeframe?

Reference librarians are available at each campus library to help you take advantage of the broad array of print and electronic resources available to you through the CCAC Libraries. For example, a librarian can help you:

Select and focus a research topic.
Devise an effective research strategy.
Locate relevant books, articles, and other information sources.
Evaluate the quality of resources.
Use research tools such as the library catalog and our many periodical databases.
Obtain materials not available on-campus.
Cite and document resources using a style guide like MLA or APA.

Visit Us

Visit the reference desk at any of our library locations during regular business hours to get personalized research assistance. View our locations and hours to get started.

Chat with Us!

Chat with one of our librarians to get library and research help. Our chat service is typically available during regular business hours.

Make an Appointment

Schedule an online appointment with a librarian for a personalized research session. Select a date & time that works for you and we will schedule your Zoom session!

Make an appointment

Email Us

Send your questions to us at library@ccac.edu

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.

Submit a Question

Submit your question to us using our online form.

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.

Open Question Form

Call Us

Call us and get answers to your library questions.

Reference Desk Telephone Numbers
Allegheny	412-237-2585
Boyce	724-325-6798
North	412-369-3602
South	412-469-6374

Visit our staff directory to find contact information for our staff members.

Check our FAQ

Search our frequently asked questions (FAQ) page to see if your question is covered. If it's not, get in touch with us using one of the options found on this page.

Search our FAQ!

Text Us a Question

Text your library questions to us at (412) 312-3206.

Questions will be answered within 24 hours, Monday - Friday.