It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BTC 204P, Evans, Allegheny: Websites
This guide provides resources for the BTC 204P research paper and poster on biodiversity.
"The Scientist is the magazine for life science professionals—a publication dedicated to covering a wide range of topics central to the study of cell and molecular biology, genetics, and other life-science fields."
"ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations."
This site is a global news service operated by AAAS (The American Association for the Advancement of Science), which provides a central place through which science news can be brought to the media. The news is arranged by science disciplines.
This site offers access to the latest scientific research via number of high quality open access journals, such as PLOS Biology. The journals are searchable for articles and back issues are available. Click to "PLOS Journals" on the tab to access a list of the journals by subject.
Provides "public access and a unified search of the government's vast stores of scientific and technical information." (Site). Searches over 1700 Web sites and databases. This site is browsable by topic or searchable by keyword.
A leading online magazine and Web portal providing breaking news in science, technology, and medicine. The articles are submitted by leading universities and researching institutions with links to the institution's home page. Browse by topic or search by keyword.
Eric Weisstein's site supplies online encyclopedias in astronomy, physics, chemistry and mathematics, as well as a biography of renowned scientists. Users can find excellent, concise explanations of many scientific concepts, and the site is easy to traverse.
More Websites for Medicine & Diseases
Check any of the listed organizations for specific diseases or conditions.
There is a wealth of information at this site; in addition to an overview that covers the basic information of symptoms, treatment, outlook and diagnosis, the site provides links to Tips for caregivers, Mental disturbances Associated with Parkinson's, Counseling and more.
Definitions, symptoms, causes, complications, tests. diagnosis, treatments, lifestyle & home remedies - all of this information is availale at Mayo Clinic's site. An interesting feature is the "symptom checker" - select a symptom, go through a checklist, and possible causes are suggested.
A service of the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has information on over 800 diseases and conditions. Information can be accessed alphabetically, by body location, demographic groups and diagnosis and therapy.
Includes both the Professional and Consumer versions. Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.
The NIH's page is unique - it will link to the institute that specuializes in the disease or condition being researched.
Looking up Addison's Disease - you will be directed to the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.