LibGuides: Computers & Technologies: Websites and More

Android Studio
Android Studio is the official development environment for creating Android apps.
Android Developer Site
The Android Developer site has complete API information, training resources to get you started, and the publisher console for making an app available on the Google Play store.

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Android App Development
This is a textbook for Android that's suitable for classroom use. It provides step-by-step examples and explanations that would benefit new Android developers.
Android Cookbook
Jump in and build working Android apps with the help of more than 230 tested recipes. The second edition of this acclaimed cookbook includes recipes for working with user interfaces, multitouch gestures, location awareness, web services, and specific device features such as the phone, camera, and accelerometer.
The Definitive Guide to Firebase
In this book, Laurence Moroney, Staff Developer Advocate at Google, takes you through each of the 15 Firebase technologies, showing you how to use them with concrete examples.
Beginning Android Programming with Android Studio
A hands-on introduction to the latest release of the Android OS and the easiest Android tools for developers

See more Android eBooks!

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Getting Started with C++ Audio Programming for Game Development
This book is a standard tutorial targeted at game developers which aims to help them incorporate audio programming techniques to enhance their gameplay experience.
Beginning C++ Programming
This book gets you started with the exciting world of C++ programming- It will enable you to write C++ code that uses the standard library, has a level of object orientation, and uses memory in a safe and effective way.
Professional C++
Although C++ is often the language of choice from game programming to major commercial software applications, it is also one of the most difficult to master. With this no-nonsense book, you will learn to conquer the latest release of C++.

See more C++ eBooks!

NetBeans
A powerful development environment for Java, HTML, JavaScript, CSS, PHP, C/C++, and more. Includes features like syntax highlighting, code completion, and formatting so you can focus on writing code.
Notepad++
Notepad++ is a lightweight, versatile text editor that supports many file types including HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Java, XML, and more. Features include syntax highlighting, autocompletion, and code formatting.
Microsoft Visual Studio Community
This free version of Visual Studio is suitable for students working on Visual Basic, Python, and web development projects.
Student Developer Pack
The folks at GitHub have teamed up with company partners to offer student developers free and low cost ways to experiment with services like cloud hosting, email providers, and code schools.
Eclipse
The Eclipse IDE (integrated development environment) is a powerful code editing tool that supports Java, C++, and PHP.

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

The Visual Organization
In The Visual Organization, award-winning author and technology expert Phil Simon looks at how an increasingly number of organizations are embracing new dataviz tools and, more important, a new mind-set based upon data discovery and exploration. Simon adroitly shows how Amazon, Apple, Facebook, Google, Twitter, and other tech heavyweights use powerful data visualization tools to garner fascinating insights into their businesses.
Presenting Data: How to Communicate Your Message Effectively
A clear easy-to-read guide to presenting your message using statistical data Poor presentation of data is everywhere; basic principles are forgotten or ignored. As a result, audiences are presented with confusing tables and charts that do not make immediate sense. This book is intended to be read by all who present data in any form. The author advocates following four key 'C' words in all messages: Clear, Concise, Correct and Consistent.
Graph Analysis and Visualization
Graph Analysis and Visualization brings graph theory out of the lab and into the real world. Using sophisticated methods and tools that span analysis functions, this guide shows you how to exploit graph and network analytic techniques to enable the discovery of new business insights and opportunities.
Storytelling with Data
Storytelling with Data teaches you the fundamentals of data visualization and how to communicate effectively with data. You'll discover the power of storytelling and the way to make data a pivotal point in your story.
Tableau Your Data!
This comprehensive guide covers the core feature set for data analytics, and provides clear step-by-step guidance toward best practices and advanced techniques that go way beyond the user manual. You'll learn how Tableau is different from traditional business information analysis tools, and how to navigate your way around the Tableau 9.0 desktop before delving into functions and calculations, as well as sharing with the Tableau Server.
Visualizing Financial Data
In Visualizing Financial Data, authors Julie Rodriguez and Piotr Kaczmarek draw upon their understanding of information design and visual communication to show you how to turn your raw data into meaningful information. Coverage includes current conventions paired with innovative visualizations that cater to the unique requirements across financial domains, including investment management, financial accounting, regulatory reporting, sales, and marketing communications.

See more Data Visualization eBooks!

HTML Tutorial - W3Schools

A good place to start to learn how to build a website. Tutorials in HTML, CSS, XML, with interactive examples of the concepts covered.
HTML Tutorial and Reference - Mozilla Developer Network

The Mozilla Developer Network (MDN) site includes tutorials for beginners and experienced developers, an extensive reference section, and links to web development tools.
Web Accessibility - W3C

Are your web pages accessible to those with disabilities? The World Wide Web Consortium offers an introduction to the need for accessible design and implementation techniques for developers.
JS Bin

Test HTML, CSS, and JavaScript in a live, online sandbox. JS Bin also has the ability to import third party libraries like jQuery and Bootstrap.
jsFiddle

Use this online sandbox to do live testing of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. It also has the ability to save, embed, and collaborate with others. Check their tutorial for steps on how to get started.

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Html5 Cheatsheet
Whether you are building your knowledge base from scratch or you are a seasoned user of HTML, this guide will be an excellent reference source to learn more about the changes and additions to HTML that will be affecting a browser near you!
HTML5 Web Application Development by Example
ISBN: 9781849695947
If you have no experience but want to learn how to create applications in HTML5, this book is the only help you'll need. Using practical examples, HTML5 Web Application Development by Example will develop your knowledge and confidence in application development.
Learning Web Design
Learn how to use the latest techniques, best practices, and current web standards--including HTML5 and CSS3. Each chapter provides exercises to help you to learn various techniques, and short quizzes to make sure you understand key concepts.
Mastering HTML5 Forms
Enhance your skills in building responsive and dynamic web forms using HTML5, CSS3, and related technologies. All you need is a basic understanding of HTML and PHP.

See even more HTML eBooks!

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

Murach's HTML5 and CSS3, 3rd Edition
This book covers the basics of HTML and CSS for web design before moving on to more advanced topics like responsive web design and adding interactivity with JavaScript and jQuery.
Learning PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, CSS and HTML5
With this popular hands-on guide, you'll tackle dynamic web programming with the help of today's core technologies: PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, CSS, and HTML5.
HTML5 and CSS3
Want to learn how to build Web sites fast? This best-selling guide's visual format and step-by-step, task-based instructions will have you up and running with HTML5 and CSS3 in no time.

Java Development Kit Download
Although this is typically bundled with code editors like NetBeans (see the Code Editors tab for a link) students may need to manually install the JDK separately. This is the official source for Java downloads.

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Learning Java eBook
If you're new to Java, the fourth edition of this bestselling guide provides an example-driven introduction to the latest language features and APIs in Java 6 and 7. Advanced Java developers will be able to take a deep dive into areas such as concurrency and JVM enhancements.
Beginning Java Programming eBook
Beginning Java Programming: The Object Oriented Approach is a straightforward resource for getting started with one of the world's most enduringly popular programming languages.
Java for Dummies eBook
ISBN: 9781118098783
Featuring both written and animated step-by-step how-tos, practice labs, helpful videos, numerous examples, and a host of Dummies hints and tips, this package makes your learning process easier.

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

Murach's Java Programming by Joel Murach
Now fully updated to take advantage of the NetBeans IDE, this book helps any programmer learn Java faster and better than ever before. It's the one Java book that presents object-oriented features like inheritance, interfaces, and polymorphism in a way that's both understandable and useful in the real world.
Data Structures and Algorithm Analysis in Java
This text is for readers who want to learn good programming and algorithm analysis skills simultaneously so that they can develop such programs with the maximum amount of efficiency.
Beginning Java
In this latest edition, whether you're a beginner or an experienced programmer switching to Java, you'll learn how to build real-world Java applications using Java SE 7. The author thoroughly covers the basics as well as new features such as extensions and classes; extended coverage of the Swing Application Framework; and he does it all in his unique, highly accessible style that beginners love.
Java in 24 Hours
Sams Teach Yourself Java in 24 Hours, Seventh Edition Covers Java 8 and Android Development In just 24 lessons of one hour or less, you can learn the fundamentals of Java programming.

JavaScript Reference and Tutorials - Mozilla Developer Network

The Mozilla Developer Network (MDN) site includes tutorials for beginners and experienced developers, an extensive reference section, and links to web development tools.
JavaScript Tutorial - W3schools

The W3 site has tutorials and working examples of JavaScript code that can help you practice and learn.
Javascript Wikibook
This book is a guide to JavaScript, a scripting language widely used in web pages and web applications such as email applications

Selected JavaScript eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Eloquent JavaScript
ISBN: 9781593272821
An online book that provides a great introduction to JavaScript. Filled with enough descriptive text and code examples to help you throughout the code writing process. It's also available for free download as a PDF or EPUB files.
JavaScript by Darren Jones
Discover how to use JavaScript to solve real-world problems, build smarter forms, track user events, and design eye-catching animations.
The Principles of Object-Oriented JavaScript
ISBN: 9781593275402
Learn about the object-oriented aspects of JavaScript.
JavaScript for PHP Developers
This book will help you become fluent with JavaScript quickly, and then serve as a handy reference once you start coding.

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

JavaScript
Since 1996, JavaScript: The Definitive Guide has been the bible for JavaScript programmers--a programmer's guide and comprehensive reference to the core language and to the client-side JavaScript APIs defined by web browsers.
JavaScript Recipes
Using a problem-solution approach, this book takes you from language basics like built-in objects and flow control all the way to advanced optimization techniques, frameworks and Node.js.
Visual Storytelling with D3
Top infographics expert Ritchie S. King covers both areas needed to master to build truly outstanding infographics with D3: design issues associated with crafting well-conceived infographics that communicate effectively; and technical issues associated with wielding the D3 JavaScript library.
Data Structures and Algorithms with JavaScript
This practical guide shows you how to work hands-on with a variety of storage mechanisms--including linked lists, stacks, queues, and graphs--within the constraints of the JavaScript environment.
Learning Node
Take your web development skills from browser to server with Node--and learn how to write fast, highly scalable network applications on this JavaScript-based platform.

jQuery

jQuery is the JavaScript library that can streamline the development of your webpages. The API documentation explains things like selectors, events, effects, AJAX, and other web page manipulation techniques.
jQueryUI

jqueryUI (the UI is for "user interface") is an add-on library for jQuery that includes a selection of user interface features (carousels, sliders, tabbed pages, date picker, etc.) for jQuery-based web pages.
jQuery Tutorial - W3schools

The W3schools tutorial for jQuery has a wide range of examples covering topics like using selectors, adding effects, integrating AJAX, traversing the DOM, and many more.

Selected jQuery eBooks from the CCAC Library

Learning JQuery
This book is for web designers who want to create interactive elements for their designs, and for developers who want to create the best user interface for their web applications. Basic JavaScript programming and knowledge of HTML and CSS is required.
jQuery: Novice to Ninja
jQuery: Novice to Ninja is the perfect book to jump-start your journey into jQuery. You'll learn all the basics, so you'll be able to truly appreciate the power of this JavaScript framework.
JQuery UI 1. 10: the User Interface Library for JQuery
This book is for frontend designers and developers who need to learn how to use jQuery UI quickly. To get the most out of this book, you should have a good working knowledge of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and should ideally be comfortable using jQuery.
JQuery UI Cookbook
Filled with a practical collection of recipes, jQuery UI Cookbook is full of clear, step-by-step instructions that will help you harness the powerful UI framework in jQuery. The reader should at least have a rudimentary understanding of what jQuery UI is, and have written some code that uses jQuery UI.
Developing Web Pages with JQuery
This book shows you how to put the power of the jQuery library to work in developing JavaScript applications. Learn how to: access and manipulate web page elements and attributes, manipulate Cascading Style Sheet (CSS) properties, create animation and visual effects, handle JavaScript events, simplify form validation and manipulation, add AJAX functionality to your web pages, traverse and manipulate the elements in the XML Document Object Model (DOM), use and develop plug-ins, and much more.

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

JQuery in Easy Steps
jQuery in Easy Steps begins by explaining how to incorporate the free jQuery library so readers can quickly create interactive web page features by copying the book's examples. It demonstrates how to easily select elements of the web page for manipulation and how to simply produce dynamic responses to user events.
JavaScript and JQuery
This full-color book adopts a visual approach to teaching JavaScript & jQuery, showing you how to make web pages more interactive and interfaces more intuitive through the use of inspiring code examples, infographics, and photography.

PHP Manual

Trying to figure out how to do something with PHP? This is the official manual that includes documentation that can help.
XAMPP development environment

XAMPP is a complete development environment for that includes Apache, PHP, MYSQL/MariaDB, and Perl. Run an Apache server on your local computer or even a flash drive to develop and test database-driven websites built with HTML & PHP.

Selected PHP eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Learning PHP
If you want to get started with PHP, this book is essential. Author David Sklar (PHP Cookbook) guides you through aspects of the language you need to build dynamic server-side websites. By exploring features of PHP 5.x and the exciting enhancements in the latest release, PHP 7, you'll learn how to work with web servers, browsers, databases, and web services.
PHP Cookbook
Want to understand a certain PHP programming technique? Or learn how to accomplish a particular task? This cookbook is the first place to look. With more than 350 code-rich recipes revised for PHP 5.4 and 5.5, this third edition provides updated solutions for generating dynamic web content--everything from using basic data types to querying databases, and from calling RESTful APIs to testing and securing your site.
Modern PHP
PHP is experiencing a renaissance, though it may be difficult to tell with all of the outdated PHP tutorials online. With this practical guide, you'll learn how PHP has become a full-featured, mature language with object-orientation, namespaces, and a growing collection of reusable component libraries.
PHP and MySQL - Novice to Ninja
PHP & MySQL: Novice to Ninja is a practical hands-on guide to learning all the tools, principles and techniques needed to build a fully-functional database-driven web site using PHP & MySQL.

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

PHP Cookbook
This book has over 350 coded "recipes" that can teach you how to use PHP in various web development situations.
Learning PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, CSS and HTML5
Build interactive, data-driven websites with the potent combination of open-source technologies and web standards, even if you only have basic HTML knowledge. With this popular hands-on guide, you'll tackle dynamic web programming with the help of today's core technologies: PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, CSS, and HTML5.

Python documentation
This site contains the official documentation and reference for the various versions of Python (a dropdown menu on the upper left will let you switch from one version to another.) Also contains setup information, examples, tutorials, and more.
Python Package Index
The Python Package Index (PiPI) is a community-driven repository of code reusable code packages that can be imported and used in your projects. Search or browse the repository for resources that save you from reinventing the wheel!

Selected eBooks from the CCAC Library.

Beginning Python eBook
Gain a fundamental understanding of Python's syntax and features with this up-to-date introduction and practical reference. Covering a wide array of Python-related programming topics, including addressing language internals, database integration, network programming, and web services, you'll be guided by sound development principles.
Think Python eBook
If you want to learn how to program, working with Python is an excellent way to start. This hands-on guide takes you through the language a step at a time, beginning with basic programming concepts before moving on to functions, recursion, data structures, and object-oriented design.
Python in a Nutshell eBook
The third edition of this practical book provides a quick reference to the language--including Python 3.5, 2.7, and highlights of 3.6--commonly used areas of its vast standard library, and some of the most useful third-party modules and packages.
Learn to Program with Python eBook
Get started in the world of software development: go from zero knowledge of programming to comfortably writing small to medium-sized programs in Python.
Web Scraping with Python eBook
ISBN: 9781491985571
The expanded edition of this practical book not only introduces you web scraping, but also serves as a comprehensive guide to scraping almost every type of data from the modern web.
Python Data Science Handbook eBook
Working scientists and data crunchers familiar with reading and writing Python code will find this comprehensive desk reference ideal for tackling day-to-day issues: manipulating, transforming, and cleaning data; visualizing different types of data; and using data to build statistical or machine learning models.
Python for R Users eBook
The definitive guide for statisticians and data scientists who understand the advantages of becoming proficient in both R and Python The first book of its kind, Python for R Users: A Data Science Approach makes it easy for R programmers to code in Python and Python users to program in R.
Data Visualization with Python and Javascript
Learn how to turn raw data into rich, interactive web visualizations with the powerful combination of Python and JavaScript.
Head First Python eBook
Includes details on the core aspects of Python geared towards the development of a web application. The author assumes that readers will have prior programming experience.
Fluent Python eBook
Python's simplicity lets you become productive quickly, but this often means you aren't using everything it has to offer. With this hands-on guide, you'll learn how to write effective, idiomatic Python code by leveraging its best--and possibly most neglected--features.
Python Unlocked eBook
For those already fluent in Python, this text aims to go deeper into objects, classes, data structures, and algorithms.

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

Learning Python
Call Number: 1st Floor - Library Reserve
Get a comprehensive, in-depth introduction to the core Python language with this hands-on book. Based on author Mark Lutz's popular training course, this updated fifth edition will help you quickly write efficient, high-quality code with Python. [Available for library use only]
Python Crash Course
Call Number: QA 76.73 .P98 M38 2016
Python Crash Course is a fast-paced, thorough introduction to Python that will have you writing programs, solving problems, and making things that work in no time.
Introduction to Computation and Programming Using Python
Call Number: QA76.73 .P98 G88 2013
ISBN: 9780262525008
This book introduces students with little or no prior programming experience to the art of computational problem solving using Python and various Python libraries, including PyLab.

SQL - W3Schools
W3Schools tutorial/reference for SQL.
Intro to SQL (Khan Academy)
Looking for video tutorials on SQL? Khan Academy's tutorials cover topics like creating and modifying tables, queries, joining data from multiple tables, and more.
MariaDB
Documentation on basic SQL statements from MariaDB (the open source fork of MySQL.) Student developers might find it easier to download and install a LAMP stack (Linux, Apache, MySQL, and PHP) bundle instead of installing each component individually.
Microsoft SQL Server Downloads
Looking to practice with Microsoft's SQL Server? Free downloads are available for developers on the Microsoft site.

Selected SQL eBooks from the CCAC Library.

SQL Server 2014
Written for readers who have little or no previous experience with databases, SQL, or Microsoft SQL Server database software, this book provides a systematic approach to learning SQL (Structured Query Language) using SQL Server database software.
Mastering Phpmyadmin 3. 4 for Effective Mysql Management
This is a step-by-step instructional guide to get you started easily with phpMyAdmin and teach you to manage and perform database functions on your database. This book assumes that you are already wellacquainted with MySQL basics.
PHP and MySQL Recipes
PHP and MySQL Recipes: A Problem-Solution Approach supplies you with complete code for all of the common coding problems you are likely to face when using PHP and MySQL together in your day-to-day web application development.
Discovering SQL
Covering the basics through intermediate topics with clear explanations, hands-on exercises, and helpful solutions, this book is the perfect introduction to SQL.
Practical SQL
ISBN: 9781593278274
Practical SQL is a pragmatic guide to analysing data sets using SQL, the programming language that powers the world's most popular database applications. The book focuses on finding the story that a data set tells and discovering the information in data sets, using the

The titles below are examples of some of the print titles owned by the Library. Follow the link for each to see location and availability information. You can also browse the full catalog for additional print and ebook titles. Ask us if you have questions!

T-SQL Querying
This book gives students a detailed look at the internal architecture of T-SQL and a comprehensive programming reference. Readers will tackle the toughest set-based querying and query tuning problems--guided by an author team with in-depth, inside knowledge of T-SQL.
Microsoft SQL Server 2012 T-SQL Fundamentals
Master the fundamentals of Transact-SQL, and develop your own code for querying and modifying data in Microsoft SQL Server.
SQL Queries for Mere Mortals
This book guides you through the process of creating SQL queries for virtually any modern SQL-based database.
MySQL
MySQL is a client-server SQL database management system that is free for most users. This text provides a guide for all MySQL users, showing how to use the tools provided by the MySQL distribution itself.

XML Tutorial - W3Schools
Get started with XML (Extensible Markup Language) with this tutorial from W3Schools.
JSON Tutorial - W3Schools
Learn about JSON (JavaScript Object Notation) and how you can use the format to store and share data.
JSON Editor Online
This online utility lets you view, edit, and export JSON files.

Selected Books from the CCAC Library.

Professional XML
This book offers readers real-world insight into XML so that they can build the best possible applications Offers an in-depth look at XML and discusses XML tools, services (RSS, SOAP, REST, WSDL), programming (DOM, SAX, Ajax), and languages (.NET, Java, PHP)
Querying XML
For software developers and systems architects: this book teaches the most useful approaches to querying XML documents and repositories.
JavaScript and JSON Essentials
This book is a great resource for developers who would like to learn more about JSON and who wish to apply it in their own projects.
XML in a Nutshell
Note: This is a print book in the library. XML, the Extensible Markup Language, is a W3C endorsed standard for document markup. Because of its ability to deliver portable data, XML is positioned to be a key web application technology.