LibGuides: CLR 100, Levine, Allegheny: Databases, Books & Websites

Databases

Culinary Arts This link opens in a new window
Search for information from major cooking and nutrition magazines
.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Search comprehensive biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Show me how
Biography Reference Bank Select This link opens in a new window
Access magazine and journal articles about people in the news and a full range of history-makers.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Culinary publications include Bon Appetit; Restaurant Hospitality; Food Science & Technology International; Choices: The Magazine Of Food, Farm & Resource Issues; and Prepared Foods.

Chef's Story by Dorothy Cann Hamilton; Matthew Septimus (Photographer); Patric Kuh
ISBN: 9780061241222
This companion book to The French Culinary Institute's Public Television series hosted by Dorothy Hamilton brings together twenty-seven extraordinary chefs to tell the personal stories behind their culinary triumphs.

Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary.

The Making of a Chef by Michael Ruhlman
ISBN: 9780805061734
Now in paperback, the eye-opening book that was nominated for a 1998 James Beard Foundation award in the Writing on Food category.
In Julia's Kitchen with Master Chefs by Julia Child
ISBN: 9780679438960
With more than 100 color photographs by Micheal McLaughlin.
My Life in France by Julia Child; Alex Prud'homme
ISBN: 9780307277695
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * Julia's story of her transformative years in France in her own words is "captivating ... her marvelously distinctive voice is present on every page." (San Francisco Chronicle).
The Business of Food by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780824212131
The business of food covers the complexity of the production and consumption of food, in a variety of social and cultural contexts. Topics include the growth of organics and local farm movements, which have provided Americans with an alternative food chain to the big food business industry.
Food Production and Eating Habits from Around the World by Francisco Entrena-Duran
ISBN: 9781634825405
This book brings together a selection of studies written by specialists from universities and/or research institutions from every continent.

Food Network
Foodnetwork.com includes content from Food Network television programs, including information on prominent chefs.
PBS Food
PBS.org includes information from PBS Food. This site features articles and videos on many pre-eminent chefs.

she/her jwilson2@ccac.edu

Email Me

Contact:

Allegheny Campus Library
808 Ridge Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

412.237.2735