Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal Justice & Law
Use this guide for all of your Criminal Justice information needs. Search the Library Resources below for books, eBooks, articles, and streaming videos. Use the tabs above to explore web sites and use citation tools.
image by Brian Turner (Flickr: My Trusty Gavel) [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons.
Find Books & eBooks
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Find Articles in Databases
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Magazine & Journal Articles
Reference & Overview Articles
Find Streaming Videos
Films On Demand - Criminal Justice & Law
The Criminal Justice collection includes "several hundred titles spanning criminal investigation, legal studies, criminology, and the justice system, this collection covers the basics and also digs deep into the intricacies of topics such as forensic science, homeland security, police training, the criminal mind, juvenile justice, cybercrime, human rights, and more."
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Sites to Get Started
The following sites have been selected and evaluated by a CCAC librarian.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics and analysis on topics such as "corrections, law enforcement, courts, victims, crime type, and criminal justice data improvement program" (site). Additonal links to publications are provided.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
Provides data on all aspects of corrections. To find statistical data on prisons, click the About Us tab on the Home Page, then click Statistics on the drop down menu. For research and reports, click the Resources tab. This site also provides extensive information on careers in corrections.
National Crime Reference Service
Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Click on the Search Q & A link "to get fast answers to many of your questions by searching our knowledge base" (site). Responses provide links to the sources where the answer can be found. Click on the A-Z Publications/Products link for keyword searches or use the links on the left listed under Topics. Results include resources from Q& A, Publications, and Related Links.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021