Skip to Main Content
Medicine & Diseases
Use this guide for all of your information on Medicine & Diseases. Search the Library Resources below for books, eBooks, articles, and streaming videos. Use the tabs above to explore web sites and use citation tools.
image from: healthcare worker. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica Online.
Find Books & eBooks
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Find Articles in Databases
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Magazine & Journal Articles
Reference & Overview Articles
Sites to Get Started
Check any of the listed organizations for specific diseases or conditions.
Cleveland Clinic - Diseases & Conditions
Find information on diseases & conditions. Includes disease overviews, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, outlook, and more.
Mayo Clinic - Diseases & Conditions
Find information about diseases such as definitions, symptoms, causes, complications, tests, diagnosis, treatments, lifestyle & home remedies.
This service of the National Library of Medicine has information on over 800 diseases and conditions.
Includes both the Professional and Consumer versions. Explains medical disorders by examining causes, diagnosis, symptoms, and treatments.
National Institutes of Health - Health Information
The NIH's page is unique - it will link to the institute that specuializes in the disease or condition being researched.
Find Good Health Information
See the Medical Library Association's Guidelines for Evaluating Content for tips on finding reliable health information.
MLA Top Health Websites
The Medical Library Association's list of authoritative sources for consumer health information. It includes health conditions, community-specific resources (caregiver, LGBTQ, etc.), self-advocacy, and drugs & supplements.
World Health Organization - Health Topics
The WHO provides information and fact sheeets - general and technical - on hundreds of diseases and conditions.
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021