It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 101/102, Griffo, Allegheny: Library Resources
These resources will be useful for the research assignment for ENG 102.
The following are some general, basic criteria to consider when evaluating all your resources.
Does the information presented seem accurate? Are the facts verifiable?
Who is the author? What expertise does he or she have on this topic? Who sponsors the site? Check the domain name (.org, .edu, .gov, etc.) to determine if it is a university, business, organization, or an individual.
What is the stated purpose of the site? Check the "About..." link on a web page if there is one. What position or opinion is presented and does it seem biased? What kind of sites does this one link to?
On what date was the page created? Do you need more current information? Do links on the site still work?
Would you quote information from this site in a college research paper?
Find books, articles, videos, and more from a single search box.
Provides information on a wide array of subjects; includes updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Provides full text for nearly 1,750 publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags. Provided by EBSCOhost.
Provides topical articles, about 15 - 20 pages long, on social issues; articles include an overview, background information, the current situation concerning the issue, an outlook on possible developments, a special focus, chronology of related events, and pro and con section, and an annotated bibliography. Provided by CQ Press. Show me how
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology. Provides access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular reference sources. Provided by Credo. Show me how