Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Research Guide
Use this guide for general information needs. Search the Library Resources below for books, eBooks, articles, and streaming videos. Use the tabs above to explore web sites and use citation tools.
image from: microsoft.com
Find Books & eBooks
Search for books and movies in CCAC's libraries. We also have an advanced search screen. Show me how
Use the "Place Hold" feature to have items owned by another campus sent to your campus. This process can take 3 or 4 business days. Show me how
Not on campus to find a book? Try our online collection of eBooks. This collection features over 65,000 complete titles and covers a broad range of subject areas.
Find Streaming Videos
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Watch award winning documentaries and classic films in all subjects. To view Kanopy videos, you will need to create an account on the Kanopy site, but will then have unlimited access to the collection.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Watch Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries relevant to every subject.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
View streaming video documentaries and series from PBS.
Have a specific topic? Check out one of our Subject Guides for other possible resources!
Find Articles in Databases
Overview & Background Info
College In Context This link opens in a new window
Discover information on a wide array of subjects; includes updated reference content with magazines, journals, newspapers, and multimedia.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search Encyclopedia Britannica, the world's most comprehensive reference product.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Get started with overview and background articles in every subject. Show me how
Magazine & Journal Articles
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Show me how
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search journals, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and videos.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Search general interest magazines, books, primary source documents, and images.
Hot Topics & Social Issues
CCAC Libraries | Community College of Allegheny County | Pittsburgh, PA | © 2021